We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Jardin Sarlat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Jardin Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Le Jardin in Sarlat is a peaceful oasis to stay when travelling, from the gracious and very friendly host's Wendy and David to the amazing verandah to relax on and have a quiet chat with other guests or just to rest.
Our room was very comfortable certainly big enough for two friends to have a comfortable stay, nice and clean with a great garden outlook.
The garden is beautiful and a very pleasant surprise when you arrive, to see so many trees, plants etc with lots of chairs placed around under a very old and large tree. The B&B is a really easy walk into the historical old town and the new town with many great restaurants for dinner and interesting shops selling great food.
We had lovely breakfast's served in a delightful room with good company.
When looking for and booking this B & B we found Wendy to very helpful thru out the process with lots of helpful suggestions.
David very kindly picked us up and dropped us back to the train station at Souillac, a great service. He also kindly offered to drive us to a couple of interesting places to see in the area which was a bonus as we did not have a car.
We can certainly reccomend this B&B to anyone staying in Sarlat.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are very comfortable. We stayed in the Beynac room which was certainly big enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
306
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our stay in Sarlat at Le Jardin was everything we could have wished for. We stayed for 8 days with our daughter (21) and son (23), having hired a car to explore the area. David and Wendy welcomed us with a cup of tea, while we sat on the verandah surrounded by a beautiful garden and sunshine. The rooms are delightfully decorated ( we sampled them all as we moved around to accommodate our long stay) and the beds are just the most comfortable I’ve had and I know holidays can be spoilt with a bad night’s sleep.David's breakfasts are a brilliant start to the day with a buffet selection AND a cooked option if you wish, and Wendy very kindly provided Gluten Free criossants, bread and cakes for me which was wonderful. There are many interesting places to visit nearby, a car is useful, and an afternoon canoeing down the Dordogne is a must, David and Wendy will happily help you chose and recommend good places to see. Sarlat itself is a facinating medieval city with many restaurants for your evening meal, only a 5-10 min stroll from Le Jardin and an amazing market on Saturday. It was lovely to come back after our site seeing during the day to relax on the verandah or have a nap or read in their peaceful garden, always welcomed by Wendy or David with a pot of tea and usually by Oscar their lovely labrador too. There is an honesty bar in the lounge where we could 'buy' a bottle of wine or beer and often we spent the evenings chatting to other guests from all around the world, it's such a lovely atmosphere.
Thank you SO much for a truly lovely holiday. Sarlat definitely lived up to everybody’s recommendation but your wonderful hospitality and care of us (my Gluten Free food especially) made our holiday the best we’ve had for many, many years. You have a delightful house which you have made a welcoming home to us on holiday - I had better decide on next year’s holiday quickly before other visitors find you !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found this an ideal location.
Service was excelent and the hosts both very helpful and had great knowledge of the area .
Veri close to the main town down a quiet street with large garden and very comfortable house.
Breakfast was very good and great value .
Rooms , lounge and dining very comfortable clean and attractive.

Room Tip: go for 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jem30303030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wendy and David who own Le Jardin in Sarlat are warm and friendly and make you really feel at home. Sarlat is beautiful and Le Jardin is literally minutes from the main square. Wendy and David are great at recommending local sight seeing areas, along with must buy wines. Davids breakfasts are great with a special each day along with a very satisfying buffet. If you are heading to the Dordogne make sure you head to Le Jardin in Sarlat you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in Le Jardin with my friend Geraldine during the last week of August. We travelled by train from Paris and David very kindly met us at Souillac Station on our arrival and took us to the train for our return journey. He also drove us to Beynac during our stay so we could explore the medieval chateau and village and take a ride on the Dordogne River in a gabarre. David and Wendy were wonderful, friendly and attentive hosts who showed an interest in their guests and went out of their way to make everyone welcome, as did Oscar, their very friendly dog. It was lovely to come home after a busy day touring caves, castles or gardens and relax on the verandah or in a quiet spot in the secluded garden before heading out to dinner in one of the many restaurants in the amazing medieval centre of Sarlat, only a short walk away.The bedroom was serviced daily and was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts, cooked by David, were a delicious start to the day and Wendy provided gluten free bread to cater for my dietary needs, which I greatly appreciated. Perigord Noir has much to offer tourists and Le Jardin is a top spot from which to savour its stunning locations. Thanks for a great stay, Wendy and David.
Veronica Dahl, Canberra, Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this lovely B & B in early August 2013 as part of our honeymoon. Our room was lovely with a newly renovated and luxurious bath. Dave and Wendy were gracious and friendly hosts. We were very touched when they gave us a bottle of champagne and even shared a glass with us at our request.

Dave was especially helpful when we asked questions about the area and his suggestions of places to check out were absolutely top-notch. Because of his suggestions, we found great places to visit that weren't in our guidebooks. Wendy suggested a special restaurant for dinner in Sarlat. They were kind enough to make a reservation for us and we enjoyed an amazing dinner at Le Presidial. Even nicer, Le Jardin is walking distance from the Medieval Sarlat.

The gardens were lovely. The pool was refreshing. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The hosts were terrific. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

From your initial arrival until the end of your stay you are made to feel very welcome in a lovely home. This is more than a B&B. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast with a choice each day are fantastic, and there's even smoked salmon on one morning!! If you dont want to adventure very far there is the most tranquil garden with a pool to sit in and relax with dappled shade if you prefer. We even managed a picnic and a bottle of wine from the great value honesty bar one afternoon and just sat and enjoyed the garden. I cannot over look the hosts who were extremely knowledgeable of areas to visit, restaurant choices for town, nothing was too much trouble and they always keen to listen to our stories from the day along with other guests. Sarlat is a picturesque place to visit with plenty of things to see and do and less than 5 mins from Le Jardin. It was great to see they have parking outside as this is sometimes hard to find in Sarlat. Thank you Davis & Wendy for making our holiday as enjoyable as it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AESH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Sarlat

Property: Le Jardin Sarlat
Address: 14 rue du Jardin de Madame, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin is situated in one of the finest locations for a bed and breakfast in the Dordogne. Just a 500 metre level stroll from the very heart of the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat-La Caneda, and yet set in a large tranquil garden with plunge pool.It has 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms 2 of them have baths as well as showers. Complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and free tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Free WIFI which works all over the house and equally well in the garden, plus we have a guest PC situated in our guest sitting room for those who dont have their own.We also cater for all dietary requirements.This charming chambres d’hotes is the perfect base for your stay in the Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Sarlat Hotel
Le Jardin Sarlat France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing