We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to the Dordogne”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Jardin Sarlat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Jardin Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
Cambs UK
1 review
“Trip to the Dordogne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wendy and David who own Le Jardin in Sarlat are warm and friendly and make you really feel at home. Sarlat is beautiful and Le Jardin is literally minutes from the main square. Wendy and David are great at recommending local sight seeing areas, along with must buy wines. Davids breakfasts are great with a special each day along with a very satisfying buffet. If you are heading to the Dordogne make sure you head to Le Jardin in Sarlat you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
312
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in Le Jardin with my friend Geraldine during the last week of August. We travelled by train from Paris and David very kindly met us at Souillac Station on our arrival and took us to the train for our return journey. He also drove us to Beynac during our stay so we could explore the medieval chateau and village and take a ride on the Dordogne River in a gabarre. David and Wendy were wonderful, friendly and attentive hosts who showed an interest in their guests and went out of their way to make everyone welcome, as did Oscar, their very friendly dog. It was lovely to come home after a busy day touring caves, castles or gardens and relax on the verandah or in a quiet spot in the secluded garden before heading out to dinner in one of the many restaurants in the amazing medieval centre of Sarlat, only a short walk away.The bedroom was serviced daily and was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts, cooked by David, were a delicious start to the day and Wendy provided gluten free bread to cater for my dietary needs, which I greatly appreciated. Perigord Noir has much to offer tourists and Le Jardin is a top spot from which to savour its stunning locations. Thanks for a great stay, Wendy and David.
Veronica Dahl, Canberra, Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this lovely B & B in early August 2013 as part of our honeymoon. Our room was lovely with a newly renovated and luxurious bath. Dave and Wendy were gracious and friendly hosts. We were very touched when they gave us a bottle of champagne and even shared a glass with us at our request.

Dave was especially helpful when we asked questions about the area and his suggestions of places to check out were absolutely top-notch. Because of his suggestions, we found great places to visit that weren't in our guidebooks. Wendy suggested a special restaurant for dinner in Sarlat. They were kind enough to make a reservation for us and we enjoyed an amazing dinner at Le Presidial. Even nicer, Le Jardin is walking distance from the Medieval Sarlat.

The gardens were lovely. The pool was refreshing. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The hosts were terrific. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

From your initial arrival until the end of your stay you are made to feel very welcome in a lovely home. This is more than a B&B. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast with a choice each day are fantastic, and there's even smoked salmon on one morning!! If you dont want to adventure very far there is the most tranquil garden with a pool to sit in and relax with dappled shade if you prefer. We even managed a picnic and a bottle of wine from the great value honesty bar one afternoon and just sat and enjoyed the garden. I cannot over look the hosts who were extremely knowledgeable of areas to visit, restaurant choices for town, nothing was too much trouble and they always keen to listen to our stories from the day along with other guests. Sarlat is a picturesque place to visit with plenty of things to see and do and less than 5 mins from Le Jardin. It was great to see they have parking outside as this is sometimes hard to find in Sarlat. Thank you Davis & Wendy for making our holiday as enjoyable as it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AESH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed in Sarlat several times, in hotels and other B&Bs, and Le Jardin is the only place we have returned to. It is, in my opinion, THE best place to stay, an oasis in the amazing, but incredibly busy Sarlat. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, great breakfast every morning, and the welcome from Wendy and David is second to none. To be able to return to relax in the garden and cool down in the plunge pool at any time of the day, is what really sets Le Jardin apart. Wendy and David love sharing their town, home and garden with their guests, and it shows! Hoping to return in December for the Christmas market!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rye1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was looking for a few days rest and relaxation and that 's exactly what I got at Le Jardin. The house and garden are beautiful, welcoming and comfortable and the location ideal. I particularly enjoyed visiting Chateau des Milandes and the gardens at Eyrignac (both recommended by my hosts) along with a whole day spent reading in the garden, cooling off at intervals in the plunge pool. Wendy, David, Oscar, Tiggy and the other guests made the whole stay a real pleasure. I have never been on holiday alone before, nor do I have any experience of B&B's, but based on my stay at Le Jardin I can heartily recommend both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The most beautiful home away from home, in lush gardens with plunge pool. Great location within a 5 minute walk to the centre of town. Wendy and David fantastic hosts, so helpful. Rooms just lovely,we really did feel right at home and beds soooo comfortable. Breakfast on the deck with birds in the garden and yummy fresh food. Oscar the Labrador was adorable too! Garden beautiful for sitting in with some lovely French wine and cheese, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#15 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Sarlat

Property: Le Jardin Sarlat
Address: 14 rue du Jardin de Madame, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin is situated in one of the finest locations for a bed and breakfast in the Dordogne. Just a 500 metre level stroll from the very heart of the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat-La Caneda, and yet set in a large tranquil garden with plunge pool.It has 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms 2 of them have baths as well as showers. Complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and free tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Free WIFI which works all over the house and equally well in the garden, plus we have a guest PC situated in our guest sitting room for those who dont have their own.We also cater for all dietary requirements.This charming chambres d’hotes is the perfect base for your stay in the Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Sarlat Hotel
Le Jardin Sarlat France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing