We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My taste of France.”
Review of La Lanterne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Lanterne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having travelled to many European cities we were surprised and delighted to find his beautiful little town and best of all La Lanterne guest house. Our hosts, Roy and Terri, were both charming and helpful and a a great in advising placed to see, eat and walk. Our accommodation was both comfortable and charming. We highly recommend a visit to this beautiful and historic town, but a stay at La Lanterne will be the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and charming, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 619 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Lanterne for 5 days in October. It was the BEST B&B experience we have ever had (and we have had many). Our hosts Terri and Roy were delightful - welcoming, friendly, warm and with great senses of humour. Their 2 gorgeous dogs gave us a longed-for 'doggy fix' and Frodo's singing was sensational. Look him up on youTube. However, if you aren't a doggy person, don't worry, they are not intrusive (the dogs, that is). The accommodation was great and breakfast delicious! Excellent rates for such quality. Sarlat if a Dream. What more could one want? We can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Wisteria room is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocie_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is without a doubt the finest B&B we have ever visited. The location is in the heart of the village near fabulous restaurants and shops. The owners Roy and Terri have made us feel at home and have provided us with a remarkable visit to their lovely home for the last 4 days. There is a beautiful little courtyard to enjoy a bit of reading or just to enjoy a glass of wine. The dogs Fodo and Fibi have won our hearts as well. This is a "must" place to stay ! Thank you Terri and Roy !

Room Tip: We loved the Tapestry Room but the Wisteria room was lovely as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We can only echo the other highly positive reviews of this B&B.

Terri and Roy were great hosts. They know and love Sarlat. We also appreciated their excellent suggestions for dinner each night.

We stayed three nights in the Wisteria Room. It is up one single flight of stairs from the main floor of the B&B, and overlooks the courtyard. Beautifully decorated, with a nice bed and bathroom.

The court yard is a great place to relax and have a glass of wine.

Breakfast is an optional extra, and was of excellent quality and selection. We enjoyed it.

If we visit the Sarlat area again, we will definitely stay here again.

A helpful hint for first time visitors to this B&B -- your GPS may give you an interesting (and sometimes steep or narrow) route thru the middle of Sarlat to the front door. An option might be to ignore the GPS and instead use a general map of the town. Sarlat has a perimeter road loop which flows counter-clockwise. On the east side of town, it is called Blvd Arlet and it intersects the end of Rue Montaigne (the street the B&B is on). There are parking meters that cost a Euro coin or two on this Blvd Arlet, and you can carry roll your luggage about 100' down hill on Rue Montaigne to the front door. Then Terri or Roy can give you directions on free parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StealthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

La Lanterne is a wonderful place to stay! It is ideally located in the medieval part of town, near the town center and close to many excellent restaurants. Terri and Roy are the most wonderful hosts. Their warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness were outstanding. We were sorry to leave at the end of our stay. Our room was beautifully decorated as was their entire home. The breakfasts are beautifully presented, tasty, and healthy. Look no further for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and loved the location, hospitality and the most comfortable beds! Terri and Roy took every care to make sure we had everything we needed. We stayed in the courtyard room which has the cutest and smallest sitting area downstairs inc. bathroom inc. tea & coffee facilities ( rare in most B & B's) and upstairs via a spiral staircase to the room with amazing views. We also stayed in the Loft apartment, very comfortable with two leg sofas, dining table, kitchen,separate bedroom and thank you Terri & Roy - a DVD player! It was great to spread out and enjoy a movie night!! Each room decorated with care to maintain integrity of this amazing building. Parking no hassle. Free parking a short walk away, but you can drive right up to the door to drop the bags off, then put the car away.

Room Tip: Loft room is a few flights up, travel light if possible. Courtyard room is very cosy with a narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeavemeinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend Anne and I stayed at La Lanterne with Terri and Roy in early September, we absolutely loved the B&B. The whole house was beautifully decorated, our room was gorgeous. Breakfasts were exquisitley presented and very tasty. No matter what we needed Terri and Roy were only too happy to help out and made our five day stay with them a wonderful memory of our trip. If I could go back tomorrow I would, definitley will try to get there again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lanterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lanterne

Address: 9 bis Rue Montaigne, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $81 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Lanterne, the most centrally located B&B in Medieval Sarlat, offers comfort and a warm welcome. Four well appointed en-suite bedrooms, tastefully decorated reflecting the history of this beautiful home dating from 1503. A peaceful oasis with its flower-filled Courtyard and beamed Guest Lounge. Complimentary toiletries, welcome drinks, free WiFi, In-room Tea/Coffee. Literally in the heart of the town's historic centre, La Lanterne could not be better situated to discover and enjoy the wonders and delights of Medieval Sarlat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lanterne Hotel
La Lanterne France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing