We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful market & people watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sarlat Market

Sarlat Market
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Every Wednesday and Saturday the great Sarlat market attracts vendors from the region.
Oconomowoc, WI
Level Contributor
224 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Delightful market & people watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Sat. & Wed. markets in Sarlat were very interesting with lots odd items for sale. Knives seemed to be in abundance.

The food stalls were doing a banner business, especially at the booth with whole roasted chickens and Sardalaise potatoes. This man also had a gigantic pan of paella cooking. We bought some potatoes and some paella with shrimp, mussels, chicken, etc. in it---yummm!

Olives, cheese, bread, jam, and of course Foie Gras and Duck Confit. So many choices, which to choose? The fruit & vegetables were picture perfect. The strawberries beckoned me over and I have to say that they were the best I've tasted anywhere.

I usually don't drink wine at 10am but what the heck! The wine booths were giving out samples so I tried a few and bought a couple of bottles.

So, strawbwrries, potatoes, paella, wine and some flowers all came home with us for lunch.

Yes, it's busy and crowded but worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Paytons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    265
    69
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“LOVELY MARKET”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The market on Saturday is heaps bigger than the one on Wednesday and basically lasted all day. I don't know if that was because of the time of year (early September) or because the weather was fine or if it always lasts that long on a Saturday. There are lots of the same things available and as always, you get what you pay for. The most wonderful thing about this market is that it runs up the main street of the old town and spills into the streets inside the town. It is tons of fun to wander in amongst the stalls and also go into shops lining the streets. You can stop for a tea/coffee at any one of the many restaurants in the town and relax to just take in the scene for a bit. Fabulous fresh fruits and veggies abound...meats...truffles...foie gras...wonderful cheeses...everything you could possibly wish for in a market. It was absolutely delightful and delicious at the same time! Not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Saturday market in Sarlat is interesting because it is located in an interesting place and area. Whilst like all markets in many countries which become popular with the public, prices are not at the lower end of the scale. But then one usually gets what one pays for! There are certainly some bargins to be made, however if that is what one is looking for, do not expect quality. If on the other hand one is prepared to pay a fair price, the fabric quilts and beautiful hand made soaps are well worth the slightly higher cost. Cafes abound along the route one has to take, so sustenance is available if required. When one is done marketing, take a walk through the glorious old town of Sarlat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Firefly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sarlat - Stay here to really enjoy/relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 5 - 6 days in an apartment in the heart of the (old) town. Drove to various attractions nearby, but most of all enjoyed the relaxed and laid back pace of the town. Numerous eateries with outdoor cafés and a chance to truly "people watch" and enjoy the shopping, food, and wines. The market on Saturday's is massive and worth a stroll through. Not only to buy, but to see. Architecturally, the old town is fascinating and full of history. You can almost not take any bad photos ...

One word of caution, the TomTom GPS App we used was unaware that most roads through the center of town are closed to car traffic. Don't try to drive to the center or you'll be reenacting an old french movie with cars driving down tiny streets and sidewalks ...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandLifeGuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
387 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A Delight for Your Senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We rented a house with friends and made Sarlat our home base while taking daily trips to anywhere our rental car would go. The market, which bordered on sensory overload, provided us with wonderful treasures for home cooked dinners enjoyed on the rooftop terrace. On market day, we would arrive early and make our way "home", arms laden with treasures for scrumptious meals at inexpensive prices. My mouth waters with the memory.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarlat Market also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda
Saint-Andre-d'Allas, Sarlat-la-Caneda
 

Been to Sarlat Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing