We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice farmhouse experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice farmhouse experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights, had a nice bright room. hotel is located in a very quiet an peaceful location about 1015 minute walk from town.
Availed of breakfast on our final morning - it was typical french breakfast but enjoyed outdoors and was excellent alternative to what might have been available in town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romantic_Culturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    88
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
213
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed here for two nights during a trip to the Dordogne area. The hotel appears to be a converted old farmhouse and outbuildings just on the edge of Sarlat and high above it. It is about a fifteen minute walk from the hotel to the old city of Sarlat - and is very steep pretty well all the way - probably about 20-25 minutes back up !

The hotel is quite charming and appears to have been recently renovated - our room was basic but comfortable with a large bathroom - very rustic in style. Breakfast was very French and excellent. Dinner was not being served the evenings we were there.

The outddoor swimmimg pool is a good size, but - I think - unheated - certainly very cold, with loungers and seating in a roughly grassed area.

Overall I would recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a peaceful retreat in this area. Sarlat itsel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewnatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed one Friday night to be ready for the Saturday market in Sarlat. After A LOT of trawling hotel websites settled on this hotel after v good Trip Advisor reviews. Settled on the "Comfort Room" at 73 Euros excluding breakfast which may have been the first mistake.

Rooms in Sarlat are very expensive and (it seems) even in mid September, hard to come by. The bedroom allocated was clean and freshly painted and small (which was ok) but was on the ground floor, with window overgrown with vines, which accentuated lack of space. Bathroom was modern but with some dodgy patched. (The sort when you shut your eyes in the bath so not to see the bad bits.)

However, the bed was comfortable, the pool well appointed, Simone was v helpful and the breakfast perfectly fine. To conclude, if you can afford more, spend it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Content-Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

A charming a tastefully renovated hotel. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Quiet setting just 5 minutes walk down into the old town (steep walk!). Rooms spotless and stylish. Good breakfast and tasty evening meal (local specialities). Decent sized swimming pool with comfy sun loungers. Strongly recommended. Not really a place for small children.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ostpark67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Simple elegance defines this old stone edifice fronted by immense chestnut trees. Our sparely appointed room contained everything we needed—a comfortable bed, lights bright enough to read by, a large bathroom, and country fresh odors wafting in from our open window. It was like being in the middle of the Dordogne countryside, though we were only an invigorating walk away from the Medieval wonders and modern conveniences of Sarlat. Hosts Jean-Luc and Martine truly treat their guests like family. We enjoyed a drink and a conversation in English and French with them one afternoon, complete with a truffle that Jean Luc had found nearby and sliced for us. The dinner we had there, expertly prepared by Jean Luc, was a superb example of the hearty but refined cuisine we enjoyed throughout Dordogne. For us, La Maison Peyrat captured the essence of Perigord Noir—easygoing charm, layers of history (the building dates from the 14th century), and rustic sophistication.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Very charming hotel in a very nice setting with a garden and a swimming pool.

Location is super especially for people who travel with the car. They have parking.
It is 8-10min walk from the center of the old town if you do not have a car.
The couple that owes the place is very nice and helpful.
The hotel is very clean.
The rooms are specious.
We really enjoyed it!!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gmgali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil Dorion
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We found this place by chance...and how lucky can one be!!! We were going to stay just one night and ended up rearranging our plans for a second night. Our only regret? We did not stay even longer... Charming doesn't begin to describe it! It was November, and we had breakfast by the fire. So relaxing! We loved it, loved it, loved it! And Sarlat is gorgeous!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelfinePQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#16 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat

Property: Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Address: Le Lac de la Plane, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hotel Maison des Peyrat, just ten minutes' walk from the medieval city, offers you an exceptionally secluded, tranquil, verdant setting for your holiday. The hotel features a welcoming atmosphere and authentic décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Charme La Maison Des Peyrat France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing