We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, nice setting, and very friedly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Very charming hotel in a very nice setting with a garden and a swimming pool.

Location is super especially for people who travel with the car. They have parking.
It is 8-10min walk from the center of the old town if you do not have a car.
The couple that owes the place is very nice and helpful.
The hotel is very clean.
The rooms are specious.
We really enjoyed it!!!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank gmgali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 381 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2010

We found this place by chance...and how lucky can one be!!! We were going to stay just one night and ended up rearranging our plans for a second night. Our only regret? We did not stay even longer... Charming doesn't begin to describe it! It was November, and we had breakfast by the fire. So relaxing! We loved it, loved it, loved it! And Sarlat is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelfinePQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

In your imagination everyone wants to have a stay in a lovely French farmhouse but with all amenities and comfort of home. This hotel is it! Nestled in the hills above Sarlat, it take a bit of navigating to find. However, once you arrive you will discover the perfect French retreat. The lovely pool, delicious breakfast and charming rooms will capture your heart. If you are exploring the Perigord, this is the best place to stay. Sarlat is a short ride from all the activities and the city of Sarlat is a joy itself. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddlenround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I stayed 4 nights in La Maison de Peyrat using it as a base for my daily trips in the Dordogne area. I looked for a quite place near Sarlat and this looked like an apt choice, which indeed it was. The location is on the edge of a quite residential neighborhood - which gives you a feeling you're on the countryside, however it's 1 Km from Sarlat's old town - which is extremely convenient, as this is a great town to visit and go out during all times of the day. The place itself is an old farm house turned into hotel; the rooms are pretty basic but clean and nothing important is missing, the breakfast is continental but costs less than if you would take it in a cafe in town, and the owners (Jean-Luc and Martine) are very nice and hospitable. All their recommendations for dinner in town were spot on, and the stay is very relaxed and enjoyable. Some minor flaws (e.g. only French channels on the TV) would give it 5 starts if fixed, but the bottom line is that for the reasonable price that you pay you get a very nice place located centrally, so with the right planning of your trip and right setting of expectations this is a very good place with great value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fretliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Just back from a trip to France and stayed 4 nights in La Maison des Peyrat in Sarlat. It is a charming little place and Martine and Jean-Luc were wonderful hosts. The hotel is set about 5 mins (by car) outside Sarlat on a hilltop and is very peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of Sarlat itself - which we loved.

The hotel is a converted priory (about 300 years old I think) and each of the rooms have their own charm. There are 10 or 11 rooms in the hotel in total. The bedroom was lovely, very simply decorated with a sparkling clean bathroom including hairdryer. The only downside to the bathrooms was that the shower head (located in the bath) did not attach to the wall, so essentially if you wanted a shower you had to hold the shower head in one hand, or else just take a bath. Aside from that the rooms/bathrooms were lovely.

The hotel serves dinner 5 nights a week (except Wed & Sun). The dinner ( 3 courses) costs 22 euro per person and the menu is placed outside reception each morning so you can decide if you want to eat in the hotel or not. (Wine and drinks extra). We loved the food both nights we were there, and the atmosphere is so friendly with Martine chatting to all the guests and encouraging us all to get to know each other.

As the weather was so hot, we ate on the terrace each morning and for dinner. There is an interior dining room for inclement weather. Breakfast is continental, croissants, jams, french bread, coffee hot chocolate etc...

Sarlat is a beautiful little medieval town with lots of shops and restaurants. We were there in July while the annual theatre festival was on, so there was a lot of activity in the town each evening: outdoor theatre, music, jugglers etc.. That meant the town was very crowded with tourists so it was quite busy, but a good atmosphere. Also, we welcomed being able to escape back to La Maison des Peyrat each evening. There is a lot to see and do in and around Sarlat - many chateaux and caves, the Dordogne valley etc.. so Sarlat is a great starting point.

You would need to have a car to get around, but the roads are very good and easy to navigate. A sat nav comes in handy, especially to find your way back to the hotel on the first day or two. The hotel has its own pool which is great to relax if you're tired after all the sight-seeing. The weather was hot around 32 degrees plus every day - an air-conditioned rental car is essential, which we had, luckily.

We only went to a couple of restaurants in Sarlat - a lot of them are quite touristy, but seemed to be packed every evening. Duck and Foie Gras is on every menu - probably best to get some restaurant recommendations in advance if this is not your thing, although from what we saw there were at least some alternatives on all the menus.

We would definitely return here again as the service was so good and the hotel lovely and charming. The owners do not seem to speak any English, (although this didn't seem to cause any problems for other guests) we managed as we had some French and it's good for practising. A lovely little find, very relaxing and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cawlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We booked this hotel for a one night stay based on the excellent reviews of it on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. This delightful little hotel is located on a hill overlooking the town of Sarlat. It was a fantastic base for exploring the beautiful villages and countryside of the Dordogne.
The owners of the hotel were very welcoming and friendly. Our room and ensuite bathroom were very comfortable, nicely decorated and of a good size. The gardens of the hotel were lovely. Although we were so close to Sarlat, we felt as though we were staying in the coutryside which was nice - it was just so peaceful and tranquil. The traditional French breakfast that we had in the morning was delicious.
We would definately stay here again and for longer next time!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidays_for_us_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2005

This former farmhouse is perched on a hill 5 minutes from central Sarlat. The feel is very rustic but not at all shabby, interior walls are of local stone, slate floors, comfy beds, good water pressure in bathroom, giant sun drenched windows, climbing roses cover the exterior, gardens are beautiful, grounds well maintained. The owners speak minimal English but so what? You will need a car but town is a quick downhill run. A perfect base for exploring the surrounding countryside - Rock of St Christopher, Lascaux caves, tiny villages, green meadows! A top location in a panoramic and delightful corner of the earth.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dutyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarlat-la-Caneda
0.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
6.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat

Address: Le Lac de la Plane, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $81 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming hotel Maison des Peyrat, just ten minutes' walk from the medieval city, offers you an exceptionally secluded, tranquil, verdant setting for your holiday. The hotel features a welcoming atmosphere and authentic décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Charme La Maison Des Peyrat France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing