We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveler rating
300
99
15
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
99
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean marc la maison short cut lovely country setting fresh strawberries minute walk down the hill apple sauce swimming pool charming hotel perfect base for exploring historic building within walking distance great shower comfortable rooms breakfast is served family room double bed
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 420 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We found this place by chance...and how lucky can one be!!! We were going to stay just one night and ended up rearranging our plans for a second night. Our only regret? We did not stay even longer... Charming doesn't begin to describe it! It was November, and we had breakfast by the fire. So relaxing! We loved it, loved it, loved it! And Sarlat is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelfinePQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

In your imagination everyone wants to have a stay in a lovely French farmhouse but with all amenities and comfort of home. This hotel is it! Nestled in the hills above Sarlat, it take a bit of navigating to find. However, once you arrive you will discover the perfect French retreat. The lovely pool, delicious breakfast and charming rooms will capture your heart. If you are exploring the Perigord, this is the best place to stay. Sarlat is a short ride from all the activities and the city of Sarlat is a joy itself. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddlenround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I stayed 4 nights in La Maison de Peyrat using it as a base for my daily trips in the Dordogne area. I looked for a quite place near Sarlat and this looked like an apt choice, which indeed it was. The location is on the edge of a quite residential neighborhood - which gives you a feeling you're on the countryside, however it's 1 Km from Sarlat's old town - which is extremely convenient, as this is a great town to visit and go out during all times of the day. The place itself is an old farm house turned into hotel; the rooms are pretty basic but clean and nothing important is missing, the breakfast is continental but costs less than if you would take it in a cafe in town, and the owners (Jean-Luc and Martine) are very nice and hospitable. All their recommendations for dinner in town were spot on, and the stay is very relaxed and enjoyable. Some minor flaws (e.g. only French channels on the TV) would give it 5 starts if fixed, but the bottom line is that for the reasonable price that you pay you get a very nice place located centrally, so with the right planning of your trip and right setting of expectations this is a very good place with great value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fretliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Just back from a trip to France and stayed 4 nights in La Maison des Peyrat in Sarlat. It is a charming little place and Martine and Jean-Luc were wonderful hosts. The hotel is set about 5 mins (by car) outside Sarlat on a hilltop and is very peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of Sarlat itself - which we loved.

The hotel is a converted priory (about 300 years old I think) and each of the rooms have their own charm. There are 10 or 11 rooms in the hotel in total. The bedroom was lovely, very simply decorated with a sparkling clean bathroom including hairdryer. The only downside to the bathrooms was that the shower head (located in the bath) did not attach to the wall, so essentially if you wanted a shower you had to hold the shower head in one hand, or else just take a bath. Aside from that the rooms/bathrooms were lovely.

The hotel serves dinner 5 nights a week (except Wed & Sun). The dinner ( 3 courses) costs 22 euro per person and the menu is placed outside reception each morning so you can decide if you want to eat in the hotel or not. (Wine and drinks extra). We loved the food both nights we were there, and the atmosphere is so friendly with Martine chatting to all the guests and encouraging us all to get to know each other.

As the weather was so hot, we ate on the terrace each morning and for dinner. There is an interior dining room for inclement weather. Breakfast is continental, croissants, jams, french bread, coffee hot chocolate etc...

Sarlat is a beautiful little medieval town with lots of shops and restaurants. We were there in July while the annual theatre festival was on, so there was a lot of activity in the town each evening: outdoor theatre, music, jugglers etc.. That meant the town was very crowded with tourists so it was quite busy, but a good atmosphere. Also, we welcomed being able to escape back to La Maison des Peyrat each evening. There is a lot to see and do in and around Sarlat - many chateaux and caves, the Dordogne valley etc.. so Sarlat is a great starting point.

You would need to have a car to get around, but the roads are very good and easy to navigate. A sat nav comes in handy, especially to find your way back to the hotel on the first day or two. The hotel has its own pool which is great to relax if you're tired after all the sight-seeing. The weather was hot around 32 degrees plus every day - an air-conditioned rental car is essential, which we had, luckily.

We only went to a couple of restaurants in Sarlat - a lot of them are quite touristy, but seemed to be packed every evening. Duck and Foie Gras is on every menu - probably best to get some restaurant recommendations in advance if this is not your thing, although from what we saw there were at least some alternatives on all the menus.

We would definitely return here again as the service was so good and the hotel lovely and charming. The owners do not seem to speak any English, (although this didn't seem to cause any problems for other guests) we managed as we had some French and it's good for practising. A lovely little find, very relaxing and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cawlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We booked this hotel for a one night stay based on the excellent reviews of it on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. This delightful little hotel is located on a hill overlooking the town of Sarlat. It was a fantastic base for exploring the beautiful villages and countryside of the Dordogne.
The owners of the hotel were very welcoming and friendly. Our room and ensuite bathroom were very comfortable, nicely decorated and of a good size. The gardens of the hotel were lovely. Although we were so close to Sarlat, we felt as though we were staying in the coutryside which was nice - it was just so peaceful and tranquil. The traditional French breakfast that we had in the morning was delicious.
We would definately stay here again and for longer next time!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidays_for_us_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews