We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring the medieval town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Le Renoir
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the medieval town”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Well located hotel with outdoor pool just a short walk from the medieval centre of Sarlat. We had a very good room with a view over the pool in the newer building and found it peaceful and comfortable. Good-sized bathroom, very clean.

No parking but we found a street space fairly near. There is a short stay drop-off space by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    157
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
68
190
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the old city. Perfect location for touring the area. Very friendly staff, great breakfast and nice quiet rooms. Free parking in nearby streets.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdiTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The hotel is OK, but the lack of parking lot was a problem. The breakfast and the room are great, but the glasses and plates could be cleaner. They offer a free safe, but mine was broken. I was promissed to have it fixed the next day, and it didn´t happen. Aurelie was very very attentive, but didn´t solve the problem. Anyway, the location is really great, 5 minutes from the medieval city and at a very quiet street. The free internet is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

the hotel is best placed to visit Sarlat on foot. Being on the edge of the old town the buz of the very busy weekend market won't wake you up. The room we got was the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in. it had all the comforts. highly reccomended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Area
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This hotel is advertised as a 3 star hotel which offers both English and German language service (in addition to French).

Upon our arrival, we were disappointed in the exterior condition of the hotel. It was on the dirty side, stained stucco, damaged tile walks and torn awnings. Not a good impression. Parking is a pain with little to no parking in front of the hotel. There is street parking on the adjacent very busy streets.

When we checked in, there was no one available who could speak English. Now we are not naive in thinking or expecting full English service but when it is advertised, when all other Best Westerns we stayed in France offered some English services and considering Sarlat is somewhat of a tourist attraction, we were surprised and disappointed at the difficulty in communicating with the hotel staff. Now the lady checking us in tried her best and she was just as frustrated as we were. We were not the only guests who had this communication difficulty as others guests were complaining as well. Needless to say our stay started bad.

Our room (number 10) was a Dr. Jeckel and Mr. Hyde situation. The room as a whole was poorly decorated and depressing. It was stuffy and if you opened up the windows, the noise from the road was excessive as was the smell and pollution from the trucks. There was a sewer smell in the area which was disturbing. There was a wall air conditioner/heater when working introduced a mouldy smell to the room which made you wonder about the condition of the filters and its maintenance program. Furniture was old and dated and gave you the impression you were staying in a summer camp, not a 3 start hotel. The master bed was nothing more the a mattress with two pillows with no head board. Sheets were dusty and smelled as did the towels suggesting their were not recently laundered. Even the mini bar was a joke with two old bottles of water and a bag of peanuts. How lovely! On the other hand, the washroom was well appointed and fresh and looked like it was recently renovated. Its very possible the hotel was in a upgrade program but if it was, our room had yet to be completed.

Later during our first day, after trying to communicate with the reception, I was finally introduced to who I believe was the manager who spoke fluent English but offered little help and was dismissive when I complained about the linen and towels. He was not helpful at all and when we spoke to some other guests, we were told he misinformed them about restaurants being open, etc and if it weren't for our help, these guests would not have had dinner that night. Even when we checked out, he was annoying and I'm never been so glad to leave a hotel.

I do have to say the bar area was nicely appointed and surprisingly the breakfast room in the basement was better then I expected.

Over all, our stay here was not positive from the start and unfortunately, it left our entire visit to Sarlat soured.

I can not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Hotel is impressive from the outside, with its swimming pool and central location a real plus. A number of negatives though. Firstly I booked a Quad online for 145 Euros only to find on checking out that there was a 50 Euro supplement for extra beds. This was only included in the small print way down the page from the room total and dishonest marketing if you ask me. Secondly our room lacked any character whatsoever - here you are in one of the most fabulous medieval cities in Europe and you have uninspiring furnishings and generic prints on the walls. Lastly for the amount you're paying there should be a restaurant and breakfast should be included but a negative on both scores there. Next time I go to Sarlat I'll chose a chambre d'hote where I can get some of the local culture for a lot less money!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at Le Renoir for 5 nights from 9th September in a room at the very top which was very pretty and comfortable. Staff were charming and very helpful. Only two negative comments: the soundproofing between us and the neighbouring room was non-existent and the housekeeping standards were poor - toiletries were not replenished and dirty cups from the tea tray were consistently ignored. Good breakfast if a bit pricey at over 12 euros. There is no parking so you have to take your chance on surrounding street - we were usually lucky. The hotel is situated in between the two main roads through the town so noise from passing traffic starts up at about 7am - hard to sleep with your windows open although very effective double glazing if you keep them closed and use the air conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citytraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Renoir

Property: Best Western Le Renoir
Address: 2 Rue Abbe Surguier, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Renoir)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Renoir 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Le Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Renoir Hotel
Le Renoir Best Western
Best Western Sarlat-La-Caneda
Best Western Sarlat La Canéda
Sarlat-La-Canéda Best Western
Best Western Le Renoir France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing