We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Grape Cottage (top floor)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grape Cottage (top floor)
Open plan living and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Grape Cottage (top floor)
Open plan living and dining
Lovely and light living/dining room
Spacious and well equipped kitchen
Double aspect bedroom
Plenty of storage in the bedroom
Huge super-king (6ft wide) bed!
Treetop terrace
Perfect for al fresco dining
Views over the pool
Beautiful ancient borie (shepherd's shelter)
Access and parking for Grape Cottage
... or in our Champagne shed, next to the boules court
How about making this your home for a week or two...
Floorplan
Read a book in the shade of our walnut trees...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rmcareer
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed June 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Grape Cottage was exactly what I was looking for and exactly as excellent as reviewers have previously stated. It's in a wonderfully quiet and beautiful location that allows for plenty of relaxation, but is also in a perfectly central area for exploring and sight-seeing.
Delicious basket of goodies upon arrival, lots of windows for natural light and breeze, spacious rooms, amazing deck, well stocked kitchen, great water pressure in the shower/tub, hair dryer that actually blows hot air, plenty of drawers and closet space for clothes, and of course excellent hosts. There really isn't any small detail overlooked with this cottage and I would absolutely stay here again. Thank you so much Nicola!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visitor73
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I endorse all the good things other reviewers have written”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have just stayed for three nights at Grape Cottage. It is spacious, clean and very well equipped. The large king size bed was especially comfy. It was lovely to find some essential supplies at the start of our visit including fresh bread, butter, cheese, milk, home made flapjack and chutney plus a bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge.
The grounds are spacious and well kept. The swimming pool was very welcome at the end of a warm day and there are lovely sun loungers plus other little places to sit and enjoy the views.
While La Blanquette is outside of Sarlat in lovely peaceful countryside (although a cuckoo was determined to make his presence known!), it is a quick journey into town or to the roads leading to other Dordogne area destinations.
We would return if we visit the area again,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadett...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and very comfortable stay near Sarlat”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent over 2 weeks in Grape cottage. The cottage was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. La Blanquette is gorgeous and the forest walks are lovely. We spent many evenings on the deck admiring the view. The Dordogne is a stunning region with so much to see and do. The beautiful medieval town Sarlat is not far away. Jason and Nicola were fabulous hosts, very friendly, and helpful to the point of printing boarding passes for us when the Ryanair app let us down!
We can not recommend highly enough! I feel sure this will be the highlight of our European holiday.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliapaul...
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in fabulous surroundings”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Grape Cottage provides the perfect base to explore the glorious region of the Dordogne with its stunning lush countryside and beautiful riverside villages and chateaux.

Nicola and Jason have created a great family holiday cottage. A fabulous welcome basket awaited us along with a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge, fresh milk and even homemade flapjacks and jams ! There was also plenty of really helpful local information to hand and the cottage itself was well equipped with a decent-sized kitchen and gas BBQ on the large terrace.

Add a glorious swimming pool, plenty of relaxing, surrounding shade and a morning breakfast delivery to your door ..... well, need I say more !!

Thanks Nicola and Jason !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila M
Burntisland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Paradise”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed three weeks at La Blanquette in the French Dordogne staying in Grape Cottage. Everything about our holiday was just perfect – the location, the accommodation and the weather just could not have been better.

La Blanquette is located at the top of a hill just outside the pretty town of Sarlat and is centrally convenient for touring the beautiful region of the Dordogne with all its stunning medieval castles and villages.

The cottage is surrounded by a wooded area of 11 acres with incredibly beautiful views in all directions. There is a large, pristine pool with comfortable loungers and umbrellas, a boules pitch, a rocking chair for two people, a hammock and little shelters where one can sit and relax with a book. The grounds are immaculately tended by the two delightful owners, Nicola and Jason, who could not have done more to make our stay so enjoyable. Thank you, Nicola for the welcome hamper and all the little treats you left for us and thank you, Jason for your supreme patience with me and my internet problems!

The cottage is divided into two gites, Grape Cottage and Vine Cottage. Our gite, Grape Cottage which was on the upper floor, had a huge balcony complete with outdoor furniture, a gas BBQ and a large dining table where we enjoyed our meals at treetop level – a great bonus for my husband who is a keen birdwatcher. The surrounding trees abound with all types of birds which are surprisingly tame. There is a spacious and comfortable lounge and bedroom and a kitchen with all mod cons.

We loved every minute at Grape Cottage and could not commend it more highly. As we said to Nicola and Jason., it truly was just a little bit of Paradise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdmoo
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the place!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent months looking for the perfect gite in France and finally found it. This place looks perfect on paper, and it's even better in person! We spent a week and the only regret is that we hadn't booked for longer. The cottage has everything we needed and wanted. The welcome basket of goodies set the tone for the week. We were very well looked-after. You can have as much, or as little, contact with the hosts. We followed the recommendations for day trips and restaurants- excellent local knowledge. The daily delivery of croissants was a highlight. The pool was very welcome on the hot days we had. I cannot recommend this place enough. My only fear is that it will be booked when we want to go next summer- definitely for two weeks! A special thanks to Julie and Nic for their kindness.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cawsmawr
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it, had a great holiday experience.”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I booked a week at Grape cottage as the relaxing middle week of a three week travelling holiday along the Dordogne and what a relaxing little treasure it turned out to be.
We hadn't planned to do too much cooking but after arriving at the cottage and being made most welcome my wife went all self catering after realizing that there was everything you needed and more for the full lifestyle.
As it turned out this was no bad thing, as Sarlat, although a delightful place is a tourist trap of the first order. Expensive shops and restaurants that only want to pack in the tourists and turn out mediocre food as fast as possible.
We used L' Eclerc supermarket which is only ten minutes away and had some really good food (cooked by the wife) on the upstairs deck area in wonderful surroundings and absolute peace and quiet. Although this did mean we had to speak to one another we still enjoyed it.
The garden and pool area were another plus after a hard days tourism, an hours sleep on the sunbed under the trees and a dip in the pool afterwards were so relaxing we really didn't feel much like going far of an evening.
I would definitely recommend a stay at Grape Cottage for a truly relaxing time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing