We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best meal in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Assiette de Foie Gras - CLOSED

L'Assiette de Foie Gras
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Tripadvisor ne veulent pas nous enlever de cette site, car notre restaurant est ferme depuis le premier dezember de deuxmuille douze Nous avons demenage a Issigeac!on a ouvri un neauveau restaurant le trois mars, restaurant "chez alain" Cordialement Sylvana et ChristianWe are sorry but we're closed since the thirst of december twothoussandand twelf. We moved to Issigeac! and opend a new restuarant since the third of mars restaurant " chez alain"regards Sylvana and Christian
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our best meal in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently spent four nights in Sarlat and sampled three restaurants in the town. We had good meals at Le Bistro de L’Octroi and Le Presidial and on the third night tried L’Assiette de Foie Gras. Wow! The presentation and quality blew us away. We each had the 19 euro menu and shared a bottle of wine. Total bill 53 euros for a superb meal. Needless to say we went back the next night and tried a more expensive (but no better menu) and again found the whole meal to be just outstanding. Service was excellent. The restaurant is small. You must make a reservation-while we were there all kinds of people were turned away. They seem to use each table but once a night and there are only about ten tables-that way they can maintain their high standards. The best restaurant we ate at in five weeks in France.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jongage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    31
    13
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant menu, wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have exceptionally enjoyed our family dinner in L'Assiette de Foie Gras; both the creative menu and the courteous service were exceptional. 12 thumbs up!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ewieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've been in Lassiete twice during our stay in Sarlat. Ambient, food, service, everything was amazing. The best part was the bill. My wife ordered the Menu Du Jour (starter, main, dessert) for only 15 euros. She had the best foie gras experience ever for only 15 euros. The staff was very friendly and the chef was always taking the plates personally to the clients to see if everything was alright. As I said, a great experience. Me and my wife recommend for all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brrobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - lovely owners, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved our first experience in L'Assiette so much, we went back three nights later. Both times were wonderful.
The young couple who own the place are on top of everything. The second time we went, the wife was wearing a neck brace, but still hopping around the place as if in no pain.
Tasty, creative, appealing food. Make a reservation, or you'll likely be disapppointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Don't miss this restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

On a small medival lane in Sarlat is this gem. Run by a husband and wife team from Argentina, this restaurant is charming, intimate, and the food......superlative! The chef pays attention to every taste and detail on the place while his charming wife makes certain all feel welcome.......with a reservation! You will need one, and this restaurant is worth the effort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KA-PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Assiette de Foie Gras also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing