We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another successful trip to France”
other traveler has booked this property
18th century Château Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
18th century Château Cottage
Lovely Château Cottage The front entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
18th century Château Cottage
Lovely Château Cottage
The front entrance
Château Cottage and 11th century Carlux Castle
The panoramic view from an upstairs bedroom
A view from upstairs back-facing bedroom
Flowered side terrace with views
Sunken livingroom with exposed castle rampart wall
The sunken living room with cast iron Colonial log fire
The sunny and spacious chef's kitchen
The traditional cantou fireplace in the spacious kitchen
The romantic downstairs bedroom opening to terrace and jacuzzi
Private terrace and jacuzzi leading out from downstairs bedroom
Luxurious full bathroom with mosaic stone tiles and black marble sink
A charming upstairs bedroom with view of village and XVII century church
Elegant upstairs bedroom with stunning views of the valley
Cheerful children's room with beautiful view of valley
The upstairs bathroom with hand painted Italian tiles and hardwood floors
Private courtyard garden at the foot of the chateau walls
Private courtyard garden and terrace
Private courtyard garden
Rampart wall and courtyard flowers
Lovely view of peaceful village of Carlux from upstairs front bedroom
The picturesque, classed village of Carlux
Ancient lavoir in Carlux, just a stroll away from the house
Our front garden roses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BettyBoop...
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Another successful trip to France”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We found the Chateau Cottage in Carlux in Holiday Lettings, we looked at a number of rentals but kept coming back to this one. It was exactly as described online. We found it after a bit of difficulty, but once there it felt comfortable and we moved right in. The grocery store, and butcher shop and patisserie located minutes away were fabulous and we also drove the 15 minutes to Soulliac to shop as well. We loved cooking in the fully equipped kitchen and relaxing outside on the terrace in the evenings after our daily day trips to surrounding villages, Sarlat, Beynac, Padirac, Domme. On our last night we had dinner at the local hotel and even though the tourist season had come to an end, the owner/chef and his wife made us a wonderful dinner and were very gracious and friendly to our group of non-French speaking Canadians. It was a fabulous trip, and Andrea, as I mentioned to you, I certainly hope that we can find our way back to Carlux in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved that it was exactly as described, we had no surprises once we arrived and that it felt so comfortable
Liked least: Hard to think of anything we didnt like - seriously.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Reviewed January 19, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The historic feel, spaciousness, and location.
Liked least: Hot water turns off during the day.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaide
Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position and comfort.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewed October 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, modern amenties, and cleanliness!
Liked least: Can't think of anything. Really!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sinamayso...
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in great location”
Reviewed August 10, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We spent a week in Chateau Cottage but could happily have stayed longer. We are a family with two children of 13 and 11 and they enjoyed having the upstairs to themselves. The house has everyhing you need for a relaxing holiday and is very comfortable and well equiped. It is furnished with antiques and good furniture and felt like a home from home.
The outside area is not very big but is pretty with lovely views, chairs and table and the hot tub, which we got plenty of use from!
The village has a butcher, baker [note- both closed Mondays] corner shop, bar/cafe. There is a farmers market and restaurant just below the castle. All good and also meant we did all our food and gift shopping in the village. The village itself is very pretty and we enjoyed discovering the alleyways, shops, castle and church.The river, swimming and canoes, are to hand down the road.
There are lots of things to do within a short drive of Carlux and some were very busy given the time of year but it was a pleasure to return to the cottage and village, an oasis of calm and quiet. I would recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Reviewed July 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing