We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All that we wanted!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Aire des Buses

'Aire des Buses' - Main house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Aire des Buses' - Main house
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment 'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
'Aire des Buses' - Main house
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
'Aire des Buses' - Apartment
West view from apartment
North view from apartment
South view from apartment
Driveway to apartment
Apartment lounge area
Apartment dining area
Apartment dining and kitchen
Apartment bedroom
Apartment sofa bed (double)
Apartment dressing area
Apartment shower room
Pool view 1
Pool view 2
Pool view 3
Garden view
Hot air balloon - view from apartment
La Dordogne view from Domme
Sarlat la Caneda
Chateau Beynac
Chateau Castelnaud la Chapelle
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence - 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sixtyplus...
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“All that we wanted!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had 2 memorable weeks at Aire des Buses in Sep/Oct. Just outside (a 20 minute walk) the charming village of Cenac et St Julien this was a perfect location from which to explore the region - in 2 weeks we did not venture further than a 1 hour drive from Cenac and still wanted to see more! The apartment was bright, spacious, clean and very well set up for a comfortable stay - it had everthing that self-caterers would ever need! It has a large living area including the kithchen area, a laundry, large bedroom, large bathroom (with shower) and a dressing room (with wardrobe and dressing table). A washing machine, dish washer, stove/oven, microwave, fridge/freezer (the basic essentials for self caterers) are all there. It has a clean swimming pool (that we did not use even though encouraged to do so by John) with outdoor settings. From onother setting outside the apartment we could sit after a day's sightseeing and look out over a peaceful wooded valley - so quiet and tranquil, just the perfect way to enjoy a glass of Bergerac wine and some foie gras! John our host was welcoming, friendly, helpful and unobtrusive (but about when needed!) and provided some essentials for our arrival. John's dog Eddie was also welcoming and friendly. We highly recommend Aire des Buses. PS Do not forget to explore St Julien - the views to Roque Gageac are wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peace and quiet, close to Le Maraval auberge
Liked least: No comment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeeljo
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful location in the lovely Dordoyne”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

John was an excellent host and very helpful with anything we required.
The accommodation was spacious, comfortable, very clean, well appointed and had nice views across a peaceful valley. The weather in May was wet and we didn't get to use the pool area but it looked a pleasant spot.
Because I'm tall I would have liked a longer bed, and I would have liked some basic instructions in english on operating some appliances, ie dishwasher, washing machine, oven etc (being from the rural antipodes I am not familiar with hi tech european).
We loved the Dordoyne for its rich countryside, unique villages and magnificent history. In spite of our not speaking french, the people we did converse with made our stay very memorable and enjoyable. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie M
Wauchope, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our three night stay was the best accomodation we experienced in our six week holiday. John and Sue made us feel very welcome and the accommodation was top class, spacious, clean, with everything you could possibly need and in a beautiful location.
John was also helpful with suggestions with a great variety of things to do, and there was more than enough for our three days. Thank you, John and Sue, for such a memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HR G
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience, thank you John!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was actually the first time my wife and I rented a vacation apartment, but it's clear to us that John set the standard pretty high. His apartment offers all the amenities you might want (including a dishwasher), but the one thing that we really liked best was the location: a bit off the beaten track (and beyond the blind summit I'll never forget :-)), and all of a sudden it's quiet, no tourists anywhere, and you can just enjoy some peace and relax. (The pool helped as well, of course....)
The spacious kitchen is well equipped, the bed very comfortable. The apartment offers sufficient space; the two of us really felt at home. John gave us a warm welcome and then respected our privacy. Looking forward to inviting him to a nice bottle once we return, for return we will! The few days were not enough to discover this gorgeous region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Re book planned!! Everything we wanted, needed and will return to see!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

BOOK THIS APARTMENT! You can not go wrong! (but please leave us a chance to book for next year first!!

Yes a tough drive, but on arrival, a friendly meet and greet, a warm welcome and a fridge and cupboard full of goodies that act as a brilliantly calm introduction to the holiday you have been looking forward to for so long.

From the beginning, good parking, beautiful views, fully functioning amenities and well thought out privacy. Roomy, light and cool in the warm of the Dordogne. Not only were we looking forward to the Local restaurants but the market food can be enjoyed in the fantastic facilities of the apartment. Dining inside or out.

The host, excellent. A thoroughly enjoyable evening at his apartment on the other side of the property was reciprocated with excellent company, great stories of the local area and some outstanding advice. This was a holiday that we can only wish to repeat next year. We openly encourage anyone to enjoy Aire des Buses. Enjoy the hospitality of John and Eddy and fall in love with the area, the region and the people. (Beware the off the cuff wine festivals that might catch you out, but purchasing the local wine is a must, Vin de Domme - Le Perigord Noir is a great start.

Enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful location, privacy and sunshine!
Liked least: having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveWA42...
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent apartment, beautiful area”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

John made us very welcome at his apartment which was spacious and very well equipped, perfectly positioned to visit the many fascinating highlights of the Dordogne. We particularly enjoyed the old town area of Sarlat, Rocamadour and La Roque-Gageac but everywhere we went was an enjoyable experience. The weather was not warm enough to use the swimming pool but it did look clean and inviting. Finally, you must take a canoe trip on the river!
We would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Finding the property after a long drive
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBris...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect summer getaway”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic week at 'Aire de buses' towards the end of July. The apartment itself was clean and very well equipped, and set in the most beautiful location. The perfect view for your early morning breakfast and evening BBQ. The glorious weather meant we took full advantage of the private pool.
John was very welcoming on arrival and helped us with advise on where to go and places to eat - he had great knowledge of the local area. Not forgetting Johns four legged friend Eddie who gave us much amusement throughout our stay.
A canoe trip on the Dordogne and an ice cream in La Roque Gageac are a must for your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and pool
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$83
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing