We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect vacation spot in the heart of the...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
keithvame...
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but small accommodation”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the gite called "La petite Grange". It was fine for the two of us but the second bedroom was very small - bunk beds and the kitchen and bathroom were also very small. Our son joined us for a few days and we were tripping over each other. Otherwise it was fine. The kitchen utensils were a bit limited - not enough bowls for example and the TV belonged to a different era but it worked. So overall, no problems but for a family of 4 it would be very cramped. The patio area was superb with the views and it was covered and protected from wind and rain on both sides. The other gites did not have this advantage. Watch out for Toffee the owners dog - he will eat you out of house and home!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The size of the rooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Croissy-sur-Seine
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Western Australia
Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Majorclan...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A well presented get away or an ideal base for sightseeing”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A long journey from Tours was rewarded with my satnav letting me down, Chris does supply detailed instructions, but I trusted technology. A brief 'phonecall, to Chris, got us there in a couple of minutes. The sight of Chris clutching his red folder might be off putting after a long day on the road, but fear not, he leads you swiftly through an introduction to the property and after giving you a welcome bottle of wine he leaves you to it. Both Chris and Kate are very approachable and you feel they would help you resolve any problems you might have. The red book proved invaluable as it gives brief details of places you might wish to visit beyond nearby Sarlat.
The property itself has a split level living area which gives the lounge a double height and enhances the airy spacious feel. The furniture is comfortable with a sofa and 2 tub, club, chairs. The conversion has been carried out with a view to British customers so the fittings are of a good standard and reflect the expectations of UK based travellers , there is none of the quirky mish mash of fittings and furnishings. that can often be found in a french gite . The kitchen is well equipped with a washing machine and a very effective fridge, a dishwasher would be good, but that would probably mean losing the full sized gas oven. The bedrooms are in the roof space and benefit from exposed beams that are both rustic and evocative of its former use as a cow byre. The large shower room benefits from the chestnut flooring found throughout the first floor.

Outside you have a large , south facing, courtyard that is not overlooked by others, but you can be friendly with fellow guests if you so wish. The views south towards the Dordogne valley, are inspiring, as is the well kept swimming pool, we were so busy we never made it there, and the weather was unseasonably wet, but the loungers looked so inviting. The large , well mown field/lawn has plenty of space for children to run around and the pool is safely fenced off too.

The property is very well situated, just a few minutes from Sarlat and the main , well established tourist sites, but let your satnav do the work and you will be rewarded with trips down empty lanes, through dappled woods and along roads bordered with edges , and fields, of the most beautiful wild flowers.

I would recommend the accommodation as a base for exploring the classic Dordogne but also as a quiet, very comfortable, get away from it all. You can go for long walks straight from the door, you pay your money and make your choice. The log burner would be magnificent in the autumn, now there's a thought.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality conversion at a realistic price
Liked least: Leaving, and the lack of a dishwasher
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Reviewed June 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing