We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely house in the middle of the wood”
other travelers have booked this property
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
A large house Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
A large house
Living room
Dining room
Ground floor bedroom
First stage bedroom
Mezzanine
Top of the tower
Kitchen (larger than it seems)
View from the windows
Vertical view of the house - the tower is only a part of it
Roquecombe domain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kintana
Pamplona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“lovely house in the middle of the wood”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent our honeymoon in Roquecombe with our baby twins and our dog. The place is lovely. A comfortable house, surrounded by ancient woods (great place if you travel with children and pets) and a superb swimming pool.
Beautiful walks in the countryside and very close to the turistics hotspots such as Sarlat and La Roque Gageac.
The owners were so kind with us, they even found a vet for our dog when it got injured late in the evening!!
A charming place cared to the last detail. I felt like in a Jane Austen novel!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gardens and woods, absolutely beautiful, and the swimming pool!!
Liked least: mosquitos after sunset
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qwertypor...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Simply one of the finest locations in the Dordogne. The estate the Pigeonner is located on, has 3 other properties of various sizes. We stayed in the largest property, as there was between 5 and 7 of us, called La Chênaie. The Roquecombe estate is located a few minutes drive from Cenac, on a hill between that and La Roque-Gageac.

The house and surrounding gardens are beautiful and carefully looked after by the owners as too, is the shared swimming pool. Located at the top of a hill, away from any traffic and noise, it was the perfect place to relax and spend time with my family. Internally, expect all the mod cons, in terms of diswashers and washing machines, satellite tv (which hopefully you won't watch too much of). The bedrooms are large and spread over 2 floors as are the bathrooms. The ground floor is spacious and comfortable (kitchens and living/dining areas), and the dining rooms' view overlooks the northeastern valley of the area, amazing. There are also two outside dining areas and a BBQ as a bonus.

The other houses on the estate are spread far enough so that everyone has their privacy and there are a number of walks/footpaths through the forests on the back of it to discover, and if you venture further away, the Dordogne has plenty to offer, from castles, caves, ancient sites and ruins, canoeing and other sports. I even saw balloons flying over the hills on a couple of days. (later i found out that they can be rented at La Roque-Gageac.)

The property owners were super helpful and very attentive, and have plenty of suggestions and ideas of what to do in the region.

In summary I would definitely go there again and if i was selfish enough I would not write this review at all and keep the area to myself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: would have like to stay longer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamiKatz...
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“the best B & B with the best hosts we can Imagine”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We (4 adults) stayed in: Le Pigeonnier de Roquecombe for 6 nights in October 2012.
It is a place not to be forgotten in all aspects.
Philippe and Anne Marie are wonderful people, gave us a warm welcome, we have even had a guided tour by Philippe (including the other guests) to hidden castles in the area.
Wonderful apartment, perfectly equipped, and every morning we went out to the garden to photograph sunrises that were spectacular.
Village of La Roque Gageac stunningly beautiful, and thanks to their resemblance to him we could enjoy the beauty.
Very central location - which allowed us to make day trips towards all directions.
The house is surrounded by chestnut trees, and we could pick up during the day chestnuts.
True tranquility, a place that justifies return to vacation in the future.
It seems to us that this is the best B & B with the best hosts we can Imagine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxer
Oxon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - not long enough!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

There are four properties at Roquecombe and we (me, husband, Dad) stayed in La Chenaie, which backed on to the woods and was also closest to the pool.

The house was beautifully furnished with plenty of space and a lovely outside eating area which caught the morning sun - perfect for breakfast. The shared grounds are immaculate.

Roquecombe is a beautifully quiet spot - hardly any noise apart from the odd deer or woodpecker, yet it is in the heart of an area rich with special things to see. You can very easily fill a week visiting castles, caves, troglodyte villages, going on boat trips etc.

In terms of practicalities, there is a village about 5 mins from the house, with bakeries, supermarket and a market, and you are only about 15 mins from the beautiful Sarlat.

The owners, Philippe and Anne-Marie, were very kind and even took us and the other guests on a tour of some local gardens and villages, which was very kind of them to spare the time.

September is probably a good time to visit, as the weather is still warm (chilly in the evenings though) but there are no real queues or crowds. I can imagine some of the tourist spots are very hectic in the summer months.

Highly recommended, wish we could go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is perfect
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
880Natali...
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, relaxing setting”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

After two weeks in France, and no accommodation booked for the third, we absolutely lucked out on a last-minute cancellation at Le Roquecombe. Backing onto a wooded hillside, the property is spacious, green, quiet and relaxing. There is a large sloping lawn in the front of the property, with plenty of room for kids to run around, a very nice pool to cool off in, a ping pong table and trails in the woods to explore.

The main outside feature of Le Pigeonnier is the tower. From the pictures, I thought the rooms would be very small, but found them to be more than spacious enough. The main floor includes an open living/dining area featuring a large fireplace, a bathroom, toilet, master bedroom and a kitchen/eating area in the back. All were tastefully appointed. The kitchen was very well-supplied, reflecting the owners' great attention to detail. My kids enjoyed the run of the upstairs, which included a bedroom and bathroom on the 1st floor and another bedroom on the 2nd. There is also an eating area out front of the cottage, with views over the front lawn and green valley to the east. In short, it was a very peaceful place to come back to at the end of each day (we were there for a week).

Le Roquecombe provided a great base for exploring the Dordogne area. Cenac is the nearest town -- a 5 minute drive away, with 2 boulangeries, a supermarket and a weekly market. You can also rent kayaks/canoes in Cenac for a paddle down the Dordogne past various castles (with shuttle service back to Cenac). Other sights in Domme, La Roque-Gageac, Beynac, Castlenaud, Sarlat, etc. are nearby. We also did easy day trips to Les Eyzies (the cave paintings at Le Font du Gaume) and the hillside cave dwellings at La Roque Sainte-Christophe (both which were amazing).

Finally, I should say something about Philippe and Anne-Marie, the owners of La Roquecombe. They were wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. If you are lucky, Philippe and Anne-Marie may take you on an excursion into the nearby countryside to explore areas off the beaten track (which were a highlight of our stay). It was also helpful that Philippe spoke excellent english. In short, we had a wonderful time at La Roquecombe and Le Pigeonnier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, spacious setting
Liked least: Mattress was a little firmer than I prefer but otherwise bedding was fine
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J R
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This was the best part of our three week trip through France.The property is in a great area ; it's a short drive to Beynac, La Roque Gageac, Domme and Sarlat. The accommodations were comfortable and very clean. We just loved the walking paths on the property as well as the refreshing pool. We would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBlack123
Austin, Texas
1 review
“What a beautiful place...”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Roquecombe has 4 rentals on the property. We stayed in La Chenaie. It has 4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths on 3 floors. The property and the rentals houses are more beautiful than the pictures! All was very clean, well equiped. We were a group of 4. There are 12 acres with a heated pool. The Dordogne River/Sarlat area has lots to keep you busy. Just beautiful and steeped in history. The owner was most accommodating! We would return in a heart beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was so pretty, better than the pictures on the web site.
Liked least: We had to leave since our visit was over.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$191
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing