We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommend”
other travelers have booked this property
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
A large house Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The tower of Le Pigeonnier
A large house
Living room
Dining room
Ground floor bedroom
First stage bedroom
Mezzanine
Top of the tower
Kitchen (larger than it seems)
View from the windows
Vertical view of the house - the tower is only a part of it
Roquecombe domain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
J R
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This was the best part of our three week trip through France.The property is in a great area ; it's a short drive to Beynac, La Roque Gageac, Domme and Sarlat. The accommodations were comfortable and very clean. We just loved the walking paths on the property as well as the refreshing pool. We would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBlack123
Austin, Texas
1 review
“What a beautiful place...”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Roquecombe has 4 rentals on the property. We stayed in La Chenaie. It has 4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths on 3 floors. The property and the rentals houses are more beautiful than the pictures! All was very clean, well equiped. We were a group of 4. There are 12 acres with a heated pool. The Dordogne River/Sarlat area has lots to keep you busy. Just beautiful and steeped in history. The owner was most accommodating! We would return in a heart beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was so pretty, better than the pictures on the web site.
Liked least: We had to leave since our visit was over.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poetsrest
Puyallup, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay in the Perigord Noir”
Reviewed December 21, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

This beautiful house was a great choice for our vacation. It is well appointed, comfortable, and in a gorgeous location. There was ample privacy for two couples, and it would work well for a family. Much attention has been given to the details, and the hosts are gracious, friendly and helpful, while allowing guests their space. We were particularly impressed with the cooking and dining accouterments, as we delighted in shopping at the local markets for fresh delicacies and enjoying meals at Le Pigeonnier. The setting is centrally located to a score of medieval villages and castles. There is so much to see do in this charming area! Our last night there we had a lovely fire in the magnificent fireplace (wood supplied), and reminisced about our perfect week the the marvelous Dordogne region of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and beauty combined! Central location and charming hosts.
Liked least: We got a little confused with our maps, but that is not the fault of the property.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosiepDor...
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing place to stay in a beautiful area”
Reviewed October 18, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We spent a week at Le Pigeonnier in early September and loved staying there so much we plan to go back next year! It is beautifully situated in the heart of the Dordogne, within walking distance of La Roque-Gageac (for the fairly fit) and very close to Domme and Beynac, but what is especially nice is the relaxing feeling of being miles from anywhere. Roquecombe is only a couple of miles from Cenac (where you can get all the provisions you need - 2 very nice Boulangeries) and reached by a quiet little road. There is no traffic noise, just the occasional sound of hot air balloons going over in the evening.

Le Pigeonnier is one of 4 properties at Roquecombe, three are houses and one is a flat in the owner's property. The properties are nicely separated and private with their own outdoor space, and have a shared heated swimming pool in a locked area with an alarm on the pool itself. Le Pigeonnier was extremely comfortable for the two of us and would have accommodated more people very easily. It is built on three levels with 2 double bedrooms on the ground and first floors, and a room with 3 single beds on the top floor which would be ideal for children. The property has a lovely feel to it with an excellent view over the countryside and a big outdoor table to sit outside and appreciate your surroundings. It also has a big fireplace if you're staying there at a cooler time of year.

We were pleasantly surprised by all the equipment which was available, a cooker with dual gas and induction hob, a nice big dishwasher, washing machine, combined TV/DVD player, stereo etc. I particularly liked having the manuals available for this equipment as well as plenty of adaptors! Other supplies were good as well, I brought a lot of things with me that travelled home again! And we had Wifi for the laptop!

We were greeted warmly by Philippe and Ann Marie and given a very thorough tour of the house and the pool area as well as some recommendations for places to visit, very useful as we were new to the area. It was nice to know they were nearby if we had any queries but they weren't at all intrusive.

If you are looking for a peaceful gite in beautiful surroundings in the heart of the Dordogne you won't go far wrong with this one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feel of the place
Liked least: No shops in easy walking distance but it didn't matter.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux - France
Reviewed March 25, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Didier V
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILIPPE9...
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Merci pour ce commentaire très agréable à lire : c'est notre plaisir que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour !
Si la sympathie et la bonne ambiance sont présents à Roquecombe, c'est que nos hôtes y contribuent largement.
Merci de nous avoir fait confiance !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing