We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Do Not Eat Here - There are so many good places in Sarlat”
Review of Chez Vicky - CLOSED

Chez Vicky
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Please Do Not Eat Here - There are so many good places in Sarlat”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place was awful - we should have left as soon as we sat down...It was our third night in Sarlat and we had eaten in two traditional restaurants which were both amazing. This place was more modern in decor and had younger, more casual looking waiters which we thought might offer a different cuisine. They had 'Chez Vicky' plates and had a great location. It was different. There are so many restaurants in Sarlat which is a real tourist trap and this restaurant really takes advantage of this...they must know that people aren't going to come back and treat their customers as such. As soon as you sit down the staff really don't care. The first thing I noticed was the glasses were all filthy. Then the wine was dumped on the table...no suggestion of a taste. This was the only restaurant we went to in France that did not provide bread...and my partner was eating a cassoulet! My starter of a mushroom omlete had a hair in it. My 'leg of lamb' was two slices of a leg that were so overcooked it was hard to cut through. These desserts tasted like they were in the fridge for a week. At eh end of the meal we were pondering over the bill and were barked at to hurry and pay. Strangely they seem to employ someone to stand on the street staring at people as they eat...presumably to make sure they pay. To add insult to injury my partner had terrible diarrhea later that night...though I know this could have been a coincidence, we just added this onto an awful evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mp1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    13
    37
    162
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheadle
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We ventured out for a meal in Sarlat without checking Tripadvisor first!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a full days travelling we ventured out for our first meal in Sarlat without our normal level of research.
Visually the resturant looked OK. However the service was very poor along with food quality. To make matters worse we selected from the vegetarian section of the menu and were served potato cooked in duck fat as one of the vegetables! The two waiters were poorly trained, not interested in good customer service and spent time much time checking their mobile phones.
In total we had seven meals in Sarlat restaurants the other five different restaurants (we went to one of them twice) ranged to good to excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjr1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled - its not good!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Two adults and three kids - we asked to sit outdoors, and the man on the street placing guests insisted that they had a garden to the rear - we ended up in a (beautiful) courtyard, but sat under a low roof, at a very cramped table, surrounded by smokers. The service was VERY poor, with the initial drinks taking 15 minutes to arrive, whilst the waitress harrassed us for our food order, The service did not improve throughout. The only part of the meal that was enjoyable was the pressed ham (pork) that I had for my main course. They even managed to spoil the kids desert by billing it as "desert with a surprise" except they had no surprise!

Please, don't be fooled by the looks from the outside, I would definitely not revisit it, and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had two lovely nights”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had two lovely nights here, the first was just a chance as the setting was pretty, returned the second night as the food was yummy. Second night was so lovely, the very attentive waiter remembered us and treated us wonderfully. Food was great again....had 3 courses this time and they were all great. Waiter was very attentive and explained all of the little tasters on the cafe gourmand and also give us a lovely little liqueur to finish up. Surprised at all the bad reviews - we had a really lovely time. Give it a chance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaycee741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality Meal”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The a la carte menu had plenty of choice. The set menu was very good value, but offered much the same choices as other restaurants. Service was excellent and friendly and the food was great. Couldn't help but notice that the restaurant only employs waiters who can fill out tight white t-shirts very well indeed!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MattHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Vicky also viewed

Saint-Andre-d'Allas, Sarlat-la-Caneda
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing