We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the pictures are not as it is” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant St. Albert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the pictures are not as it is”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked this hotel as it seemed from the photos and website very 'French' with the individual styles to the rooms, all of which show quite a good size. On arrival we could not find it and asked the local policeman, who had no idea either. Eventually we found it but it was locked up and we had to go back after 4pm - this should have given us a feel for what was yet to come.
The room we were given was very small, even though I had booked a superior. We tried to open the window in the night to get some air as there was also no air conditioning but the constant noise from the traffic and the early customers at the Bakers across the road made this impossible and in frustration we had to close it and suffer.
I questioned the allocation of the room as we were departing and said it had been extremely small, noisy and not at all like the pictures on the website and that I had booked as superior. The lady on reception told me this was one of their largest rooms and the website pictures were not necessarily as it is. I said that they were then selling under false pretence and she shrugged and said that was their largest and best room. I told her I was not happy and would feed back on the internet regarding this to warn others who may look to book.
In addition to this - The lady who booked us in deterred us from booking breakfast as she told us it was not very good. We had also looked forward to having a drink in their bar and possibly a meal in the Bistro (again a reason for booking this hotel) - both sadly were closed but fortunately we were able to find a lovely restaurant in Sarlat.

My warning is that what you book is not what you get. You get small rooms, heavy traffic noise so you are not able to open a window, no Bistro or Bar and according to the receptionist the breakfast is not good. Whilst a 2 star, it promised to be more than it was and for the price, on looking around Sarlat which we did after the huge disappointment of our arrival and what it offered us, there were a good many hotels at 2 and 3 star that far exceeded this sad venue.

We did get a call from them to say they were sorry we were disappointed but they said they could not make any refund re the room as it was a superior. On returning home the credit card receipt also included a note to say they were sorry we had not enjoyed our stay. Whilst they accepted there were issues, they were not addressed and I still say - go and book elsewhere if you are looking for anything other than a very noisy box room.

Room Tip: we were at the back and it was non stop traffic, the front is on the main road so I would think wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    48
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
20
67
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel St Albert for two nights (Sunday and Monday) for a little treat after our friends' wedding in the Dordogne region. The hotel is boutique-styled with a restaurant and wine bar attached (which unfortunately was not open on the 2 nights we stayed but we tried some delicious white wine in the bar one afternoon). The rooms are simple, elegant and comfortable, although a little on the small side. Breakfast is basic but very tasty and is served in the beautifully decorated lounge/breakfast room. The welcome and service was by far the best part - the staff speak English but were happy to let me practice my French, which I really appreciated. The hotel is very central, close to lots of lovely restaurants, bars, shops, and picturesque streets of the Medieval city. A perfect find for a mini-break.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped at the St Albert for one night during the recent 'mini-heatwave' experienced in the S of France. Having parked (for free at the weekend) on the street directly outside, we were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception who checked us in rapidly and apologised that our room on the second floor may be a little warm. It was, but this was not a surprise, and no problem as we were well aware that the hotel was not air conditioned. The room was small, but clean and modern. We enjoyed a couple of beers in the (air-conditioned) bar and enjoyed a chat with the same lady from reception. For the price, I would definitely recommend as a good place to stay in Sarlat.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floatingboy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
781 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our stay at St.Albert was faultless. Although I can see how others may have had problems due to the proximity of the rooms to the roads, we had no problem.Sarlat is busy in the day but becomes quiet at night.
The location is great as it's just by the main road which goes through the old part of town and no more than a few minutes to all the attractions, restaurants/cafes etc
If you have a car parking can be problematic anywhere you stay in Sarlat, but the friendly reception staff showed us a place not far away we could park for free.
The rooms were pretty modern and comfortable with most facilities you would expect including free Wifi.
Throughout our stay the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke good english.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a double room at the back on the first floor. The room was like an oven. There was no a/c. The fan did not work, despite a request to reception to put right. With the window open, it was like being in the centre of Le Mans on race day. I did not sleep all night. What more need I say?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels

Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Lovely hotel very quirky and clean staff were very helpful and friendly gave us loads of tips re parking places to visit. They also gave us glasses, ice buckets and to drink the wine we bought enroute from St emilion!!! We sat vert comfortably in a nice lounge area of the hotel and planned our onward journey and ended up staying for two more days. The exception to our trip was a restaurant in the old town called le p'ere en fils do not go there it's disgusting food terrible service and all in all the worst restuaranr I have been to in years. But despite that a great place!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one off the main street our friends said it was a bit noisy our room was insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a lovely 3 night stay here, very clean, staff friendly and the location was perfect. Only slight disadvantages were that we were unable to check in till 4.30, the hotel was closed before then and parking was on-street so might be a problem at busier times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the main road is busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie_and_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#28 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montaigne
Hotel Montaigne
#26 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Pagezie
Hotel de la Pagezie
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant St. Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant St. Albert

Property: Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Address: 1 Place Pasteur, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant St. Albert 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Restaurant St. Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing