We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here with a tour group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Compostelle
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights here, as part of a tour group. Location was good - 10 minute walk to the center of town. Plenty of restaurants within 10 minutes; laundromat close by. Helpful staff; decent-sized room w/ amenities. Nice bathroom w/ tub/shower; toilet separate. Lovely outdoor patio in the back for guests as well as large sitting area on the ground floor.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, at the front of the hotel & had to close our windows to block out stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmercies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very friendly welcome. The smile on the receptionist couldn't have been wider. Clean room. Marvellous air conditioning (required in 35 degree heat). Only 5 minutes walk from the old town. Safe on street parking. The hotel reminded us of a US style motel. Very reasonably priced.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GeorgeMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pleasant hotel within 5 minutes' walk to medieval city. Pleasant staff - Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet . Prices were reasonable (low season). Breakfast was fine. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place was perfect for us. The ten minute walk into town was easy. The parking was close and uncrowded. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Our room faced the main street but we were no bothered by any noise in the evening.
The breakfast facilities were modern and provided the standard European choices at a reasonable price. Though the English was limited, we both tried to work through our quesitons and we received warm greetings and helpful directions.

Room Tip: Be sure to call ahead, even at the tail end of the tourist season. This place offers a great locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was worried about some negative reviews, but I think they're quite old. Now, this is a very nice hotel. The staff was helpful, the wifi worked, the AC worked, the rooms were clean, and the location was great. The shower's a little awkward and the shower curtain fell down on me, but I'd happily stay here again. It's not cheap, but it's not a terrible deal either.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sftraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We ended up at this hotel by chance. We went to Sarlat in September, without booking. We tried the top two, whose details we took with us. They were both full, so it was a case of taking pot luck, as time was getting on. We worked our way down the street, everywhere being full, and ended up at Hotel de Compostelle, which is at one end of Sarlat. We could get out of the town without going through the narrow, congested old town, which, I think, was a bonus. We booked for one night, and stayed for five.

We found reception charming and helpful. Our room was fairly spacious, clean and fresh, basically decorated, with a large shower, fridge and large balcony. It didn't have any particular charm, but, hey, how long do you spend in a hotel room.

Breakfast was good, in a room opening on to the courtyard garden, and we had free parking just down the road, a bonus in Sarlat.

I cannot compare our room with others, perhaps we were lucky, but on our experience I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annje1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Very disappointing. Location okay although many others better. Staff are very pleasant. However, the rooms are very poor altho spacious. Stale, tired, below spartan with scant cheap furnishings. Door to balcony broken. Had a family suite and 'common'/ lounge room which had one chair, coffee table, single bed, no bedside table, no lamps apart from single ceiling light etc. Devoid of comfort or charm.
Look further.
Incidentally, Sarlat was beautiful in October - but a ghost town with few tourists, and the majority of shops closed.


































.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paradoxpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
4.5 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Albizia
Hotel Albizia
#21 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Abbys Hotel
Abbys Hotel
#9 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Compostelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Compostelle

Address: 64 avenue de Selves, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $111 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Compostelle 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the medieval city of Sarlat la Caneda, capital of the scenic Perigord Noir region, the Hotel de Compostelle is nestled between the Vezere and Dordogne valleys. The Hotel de Compostelle features 23 spacious, bright and air-conditioned rooms, including 3 family suites. All the rooms are equipped with private bathrooms and have cozy and individually decorated spaces. To get off to a good start and enjoy a busy day of trips and excursions, the Hotel de Compostelle offers daily breakfast. It can be served in the garden in summer. The inviting and spacious lounge, and the lovely back garden fitted with outdoor furniture offer relaxing settings for unwinding or planning a day out exploring the picturesque streets of Sarlat and discovering the Perigord and Dordogne regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Compostelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Compostelle France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing