We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time was as good as the first” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro de l'Octroi

Le Bistro de l'Octroi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Second time was as good as the first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I ate at the l'Octroi 2 years ago and liked it so much that I brought friends back. It was as good as i remembered. We all ordered 3 course menus that we excellent quality and good portions. The prices are reasonable for what we got. The servers spoke good English and we helpful. The wine list was small, but good. I would definitely go back if I am in Sarlat again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    352
    97
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I will say initially that it is hard to find a great restaurant at a decent price in Sarlat as the tourist trade probably doesn't force most to be great. Le Bistro de l'Octroi falls into the category of a typical average Sarlat restaurant for me. The service was good and the plates were presented well but there was nothing memorable about the experience or the food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect chocolate fondant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place on suggestion of owners of gite we were staying in. The food was excellent and great value. We both had duck and chocolate fondant, both cooked perfectly. Our three course meal, wine and water came to about 55 euros for two.
Would go back again next time we're in sarlat, it was the best food we had in town during our stay and the service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never disappointing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

When ever we visit Sarlat we always visit this restaurant and have always had an
excellent meal which is delightfully presented.Their lunchtime special menu is especially good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swebbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good restaurant if you want to try local cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Good restaurant if you want to try local cuisine. If you would like something that is not duck or its derivates, you will have little choice. Good quality food, nicely presented and overall good service at a reasonable price.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro de l'Octroi also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Bistro de l'Octroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing