We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sarlat-la-Caneda
Post
Inbox
Search

“Slow mo”
Review of La Rapiere

La Rapiere
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was very good but the service was the slowest I've ever encountered anywhere and since trying several other Sarlat restaurants this is not the norm. Went for 19E menu and had to keep reminding staff that we were due each of 3 courses. Would not go back although later Sarlat resuarant experiences restored our faith.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jimbojc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 908 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant started off a perfect evening in Sarlat-la-Canéda. The staff were very friendly and happily translated the menu for us. The restaurant and toilets were very clean. I had the duck confit, my partner had the burger and our kids ate from the children’s menu. All delicious and reasonably priced. Only thing to improve it would be to have some salad or vegetables with the children’s dinners.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank EmuLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

I have been here several times over the years and it looks like it has changed hands yet again. This time it is back to it's old standards ie good food and service with a smile. The lady in charge was brilliant and when our ordered wine was out of stock we were offered something better at the same price.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 289carolinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

Welcome lunch whilst people watching from a table outside. Both juniors opted for chicken caesar salads which were generous on the chicken and bacon. Seniors both enjoyed burgers. Plenty of other diners seemed to enjoy the more local cuisine but we ordered what we fancied and weren’t disappointed. Desserts disappeared rapidly, call out for the fondant which was worth the very French 10 minutes to cook. It’s a popular spot so glad we dived in early (noon) and then enjoyed a leisurely lunch. Some later arrivals could not be accomodated. Service was friendly and efficient despite how busy it became. Next time I probably would be more adventurous.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JonnersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

One of the problems of dining in Sarlat is that most of the restaurants have seemingly identical similar menus - confit de canard, magret de canard, cassoulet, tournedos de rossini - all of which can be very nice, but if one lives in SW France, these tend to be everyday meals at home or in restaurants.

La Rapiere had been recommended by our hotel and I was pleased to find a bit more variety on their menu, particularly porc noir, - French traditional breed of Gloucester Old Spot and its ilk. In other words a forest reared pig that 's foraged on acorns and chestnuts (and perhaps the occasional truffle) and is a lot more flavoursome than your average bit of pork.

Otherwise, reasonably priced, one can order pichets rather than bottles (though the wine list is OK). There are tables on the street so one gets a bit of the vibe from people passing and people watching; basically, I think one can do a lot worse in Sarlat.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank DrMHaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rapiere also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to La Rapiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing