We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in the centre of Sarlat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gueule et Gosier

Gueule et Gosier
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good value in the centre of Sarlat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is an ideal choice of restaurant just away from the main drag and therefore a little cheaper. We went there three times in our two-week stay in the area. All the restaurants in this area want to force foie gras down your throat, which means that all the menus in the affordable restaurants are pretty much the same. Our family of 5 ate from the 17 Euros menu and found plenty even for those of fussy tastes (avoiding the foie gras). Of course, there was duck in several different ways. The coq au vin was surprisingly dry. The outdoor tables are on a slope, which creates a slightly disorientating effect. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    181
    53
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice small restaurant in a quiet corner with reasonable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Following the critics here in Tripadvisor, we came across this small restaurant for lunch. We took the menu of 14€: foie gras de maison, cuisse de canard confit, and dessert/fromage. Very warming and friendly service from 3 charming "Garçons". The dishes are totally correct as what we expected and what we needed. Excellent place for having a small lunch with reasonable price and fairly good quality. Nice occasion without too much touristic passage in a quiet corner in downtown near the cathédrale saint SACERDOS.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siraya-TW38FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average, nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Perhaps this restaurant is in some way better than others in the same price range in Sarlat, but we couldn't see anything to justify a glowing review.

The location is certainly pleasant. Service is efficient but nothing more. The food is delivered very quickly. Portions were a little small and the quality of food was acceptable but not impressive. The salmon was overcooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

"Gueule et gosier" is a nice restaurant located in the town centre just a few footsteps from the central square of the town. The restaurant is currently rated among the best down-town and simply looks welcoming upon arrival.

I ate here with my parents a full duck-based menu. However the food was just average in comparison to what one can easily get in the country. Among starters, the pate de fois gras was somehow coarse-grained. The main course happened to be just average: my duck breast with pineapple was unevenly cooked (too raw on one end and slightly overcooked on the other) while the confit I tasted from my mother's dish seemed too dry to my taste. Finally the mousse was uneven with some small bits of chocolate here and there.

Altogether the service offered no high notes leading to a "Only average" dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WandererInTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulhan, France
Level Contributor
170 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Prompt, polite, and plain -- a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

G&G is located up a hill on a street to the right of the town hall. It was also recommended by Trip Advisor but it was a larger, albeit pleasantly secluded, place where we were quickly seated and served. We did not feel rushed in any way but it was a bit different from our experiences in other restaurants – here patron turnover was on the staff’s minds.

After being served our aperitifs, we selected 17 Euro menus and a Pecharmant wine from Chateau Melandes, a place that we did not visit but after a web search learned had an interesting history that featured a distinguished entertainer – Josephine Baker (http://www.milandes.com/site.php).

Our menu selections on this chilly evening included starters (snails with mushrooms and Carpaccio) followed by main courses of an entrecote and a cassoulet with a duck leg. Desserts were a fresh fruit salad and two pieces of very nice nut cake.

The food was fine; well prepared and nicely presented by friendly waiters – nothing extraordinary -- unless an American standard is used, in which case this was very good food and value -- but a nice value in a pleasant place.

People looking for a modestly priced restaurant off-the-tourists’ streets should consider this place. Our bill was about 70 Euros.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPDeA-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gueule et Gosier also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Gueule et Gosier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing