We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great set menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Medieval

Le Medieval
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great set menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Tucked away, we had arrived early on market day, and it was now midday.
Nowhere will serve just drinks at this time, all are pushing food.
So we after looking at a few eateries chose this one.
We were not disappointed, I had the duck sausages, which I had been hoping to find on a menu!
They were great, but had clearly been cooked on a griddle that needed a clean & arrived with black bits attached as 'extras'.
My husband had an entrecote, and was pleased with it.
We didn't have deserts, as we hardly ever eat these, enjoyed the house wine, and were satisfied.
We were lucky with a table outside, but under cover, as it started to rain, the place became very busy with people looking to get in to dine.!
We would return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    118
    37
    52
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuerteventura
Level Contributor
777 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found it difficult to choose a place to eat in Sarlat and ended up in Le Medieval. Though one or two people were sitting outside, it was a bit cool, so we opted for inside.

There is not much room inside; there seems to be much more tables outside, however inside was quite quiet and we got a table no problem.

My partner had a very big plate of Penne au Saumon which was very tasty and well priced at 9 Euros. I had the Coq au Vin. It was very good and great value for 8 Euros. The half litre pichet of Bergerac Rouge was also very drinkable and well priced at 7.50 Euros. All in all, the meal cost us only 25.00 Euros

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Glad we ignored the knight in shining armour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Normally I would have ignored a restaurant with a knight in shining armour holding a menu but one of our party was eager for a pizza. This delighful restaurant is situated in two small alleyways towards the edge of Sarlat old town. We all agreed that the pizza was the best we had ever tasted and the service was second to none. Our friend asked to sample the cheese that would be on his pizza and the waitress brought him a piece, on a plate, decorated with some lettuce. That's service!! If you are looking for a break from the endless round of duck etc, look for the knight in shining armour and give him the benefit of the doubt - we did!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ignore the knight and go in, its aq nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

On approaching the medieval restaurant we were a little put off by the gimmicky Knight holding a menu and the general tacky appearance of the menu display. We gave it a go though and sat outside which was nice. The restuarant is at the end of an alleyway and sitting outside is nice. Its just tucked away from a main road so you its quiet and hassle free. The restaurant serves the usual 3 course menus as well as other dishes. The restarant was good value 14 euros for the 3 course option and house wine at 8 euros a bottle. Good service and the food was decent and well worth the visit. Its one of the most competitively priced restaurants on the main Sarlat tourist trail.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFishwicksGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Medieval also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Medieval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing