We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel to stay for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Mas De Castel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mas De Castel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel to stay for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at this fantastic hotel August 8-16 for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time in the Dordogne valley. The owners Francine and Daniel are very welcoming and know how to look after their guests. Marie the receptionist was extremely helpful and booked local restaurants for us and gave us plenty of advice on local attractions to visit. We enjoyed our continental breakfast at the hotel and the evening meal was lovely, involving delicious local produce and fresh fish from Larochelle. Nice outdoor pool which is clean and well kept. We stayed in room 16 which is in the new block (May 2014 build), great facilities and wet room shower. Would definitely return to this hotel and will recommend to others. Jon and Rebecca.

Room Tip: New block 15-20
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    81
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
167
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor. Overwhelming, this was the best hotel during our 2 1/2 week trek through France. Located just outside Sarlat, the area was quiet and relaxing. The room was large, clean - our only suggestion for improvement would be to install a toilet paper holder rather than just having on top on the shelf. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Nice to have on site parking. We would go out of our way to stay here again on our next trip. One night was not long enough!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank On_The_Road_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our family of five stayed at Le Mas de Castel in early July. At checkout I noticed a charge for a bottle of wine, we had not consumed any wine, and when I brought it to the attention of the owner, she took it off the bill. I was distracted with that charge and unfortunately did not look closely at the rest of the bill. When I did take a closer look the next day, I noticed we were overcharged 10 euros for one of our two rooms and charged city tax for 6 people instead of 5. I emailed the owner and heard nothing back from her. I emailed her again a few days later with no response. I contacted my credit card company and they were able to get us a refund for the overcharge. If the overcharge had been a simple mistake on her part, why did she not respond to my emails?

In regards to the hotel, our room in the newer section was lovely but the room in the older section was in need of updating. The breakfast was okay but overpriced. Staff were pleasant, their suggestions for dinner were very good.

If you do decide to stay here (I would not stay again), make sure you stay in the newer portion of the hotel and VERY carefully check your bill!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank family32606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardolino
Level Contributor
228 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Located 10 minutes by car or 45 minutes walking from the medieval center. The owner and her (at least bilingual) enthousiastic staff made us feel welcome from the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out. Bright room with a large bed. Sufficient closet space. Large enough bathroom. Decent breakfast. There's a swimming pool. Free parking and wifi.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bonsi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent 3 nights here recently to explore in the Dordogne area.This is a very appealing B&B in the vicinity of Sarlat. You will need a car to stay here. About 10-15 min drive to Sarlat, it would be quite far to walk there. We had a regular double bedroom. Room was average size w/ adequate bathroom w/ handheld shower. The receptionist, I believe was also the owner. She was very nice and helpful. They serve a nice breakfast in the morning w/ eggs, meat, yogurt and cereal , variety of breads. Very nice country setting . There was a pool, but didn't have time to use it. The only drawback I can see is that you can't stay here unless you have a car and a GPS. The place is not very easy to find in the dark. We had to rely on our GPS to get home.Also they need a bigger sign to their place.Otherwise, it's a nice place to stay! We can see staying here again.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the hotel and separate cottages. We stayed in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuscangal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely property in the country side, close to charming Sarlat.The rooms are not extravagant but very clean and comfortable. They just opened a new addition so more rooms now available. Most of your time will be spent outside anyway so enjoy coffee or local wine on the patio.

Room Tip: Very quiet here, there is a new block of rooms with A/C if you really need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthmiles1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great overnight stay here and the owner could not have been more helpful. It is a very charming location and they do a great breakfast. They also gave us excellent advice about where to eat in Sarlat itself which is a gorgeous town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#15 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas De Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas De Castel

Property: Le Mas De Castel
Address: Lieu Dit le Sudalissant, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas De Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas De Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas De Castel France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing