We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to see why it's in the top three” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Le Gaulois

Chez Le Gaulois
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Easy to see why it's in the top three”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We looked at the menu a couple of times as we walked past and weren't too sure whether to try this restaurant, but are so glad we did. We ate inside as it was a bit windy, but the atmosphere as it filled added to the ambiance of the place. Yes the menu is basically sliced ham (but not as the English or Aussies know it), boiled potatoes and melted cheese, but they all come together to make an excellent lunch. Simple food, well matched and well cooked is what this is and it works so well. We were first in at around 12 (opening time) but by 12.45 the restaurant and the limited seating outside were pretty much full, so get there earlier rather than later. The waitress explained (in good English) the variations on the common theme, was friendly and efficient. She maintained this level of service throughout our meal as the restaurant became full. The pichet of red wine was also good value. For desert I had the 123 Chocolat (white ,milk and dark) and my wife had 3 different scoops of glaces and I was assured by her the passion fruit glace was "to die for". An excellent lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJWTP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    389
    48
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basye, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place appealed immediately, even though there were plenty of other restaurants on this street. We were welcomed immediately inside to find a cozy place filled with French people, always a good sign. The lunch was perfect, with freshly sliced hams, melted cheese, potatoes, and a carafe of wine, a perfect lunch and something a little different from other places we tried. The staff were cheery and friendly, and spoke English.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kiwis in Sarlat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a great restaurant. Highly recommended as showing the very best regional cuisine and the meal was absolutely delicious. Graet ambience, really nice people. A must go place. Very popular - if you cant get a seat dont go anywhere else - wait and come back later. Its a taste bud trip!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david-Rd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great change from duck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This atmospheric and intimate restaurant offers consistently good informal Savoyard food. The service is friendly and slick, the wines affordable , and the food - especially the thinly sliced cold hams - utterly delicious.
As other reviewers have observed,' it is what it is ' , but for value for money and a refreshing (and fresh) change from the plethora of touristy duck menus on offer in the wonderful town of Sarlat, this cannot be bettered. As a local and regular visitor, I have not had a dud meal here since they opened.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acpackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Savoyarde cuisine in the Dordogne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Fabulous lunch time (or anytime!) restaurant! Great choice of matured meats served with salad, potatoes and warm cheese. Reasonably priced and friendly helpful staff. Get there early as no reservations otherwise join the queue!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Le Gaulois also viewed

Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne
 

Been to Chez Le Gaulois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing