We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, very friendly”
Review of Hotel Bon Encontre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bon Encontre
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super clean, very friendly”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic little hotel for a few nights stay.
Very, very clean inside and out. Felt like it was brand new.
We found all the staff very helpful and friendly.
A great pool to chill out by after a hot day out sightseeing.
Very nice for a three star.
In a great position for walking down into Sarlat the hill back up does help to burn of the 'canard'
A great location for visiting the many attractions in the region.
Do try to get to Marqueyssac the gardens and the view are amazing

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Livster64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    67
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
24
144
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Sparkling clean, nice swimming pool and friendly/helpful staff. The hotel is 10 min walk from the city center on the way down (!!!), a good 15-20 on the way back (up hill).
Private parking. Good beds.
Now the choice of the ceramic floor across the entire hotel helps to keep it clean but is a serious problem re sound isolation. So everybody is up at the breakfast time ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staying at this hotel in the historical town of Sarlat was an absolute delight. The grounds and swimming pool are the first glimpse one gets as they enter reception. Sarah, the receptionist speaks excellent English and showed us to our room (10) on the first floor. A safe is provided at no extra cost. Some of our clothes needed to be stored in our suitcases owing to a lack of shelf and drawer space. Perhaps if we had not been staying for so long it would not have presented a problem.
Cleanliness was second to none. Tiled floors are always a problem regarding footsteps outside but this did not unduly bother us. Breakfast represented the best value we have ever experienced in France. Very friendly and hospitable. We would recommend this to anyone who places comfort and hygiene high on their list of priorities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganda568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Superb location and views, luxury feel. Fine swimming pool with comfortable sun beds. Spotlessly clean, with attention to detail. Lovely informal atmosphere, but stylish at the same time. Breakfast adequate enough for the price.

Breakfast was let down by the coffee being served in flasks. The taste varied from day to day. Filter coffee served from a 'help yourself' jug on a hot plate would have improved the taste and overall breakfast experience at a place of this calibre. Tea and coffee in the room would have been the icing on the cake.
missbrightonrocker

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool which was pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missbrightonrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Charming little hotel above the village. Good breakfast ( they even offer omelettes and eggs a but there is no way of knowing it ) nice comfortable bed and very clean and modern with colonial charms. €95 euro's is a good deal

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I'm so pleased that Trip Advisor's reviews led me to book this hotel. It was perfect for our requirements. It was in a quiet residential road on the edge of town, and had its own parking area. Quiet and parking space are rare commodities in Sarlat! The hotel was immaculately maintained, and everyone of the staff was charming, welcoming and helpful. We had a spacious superior room with a modern 4-poster bed, ample hanging/shelf space, and a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was generous and varied. There was plenty of outdoor seating, on the terraces or around the pool, with a choice of east, south and west facing prospects - always some sun or shade, depending on your preference. We really enjoyed the walk to the town centre (10 minutes down, 15 minutes up, as the reception staff rightly described it). Just right for some post-prandial exercise. But if you're not able to cope with that, you'll need to take your car. There are many parking spaces - it's just a matter of finding one free!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loxley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Lovely place, very clean, tidy, really helpful staff, super pool. Less than a kilometre walk to Sarlat, it's a bit of a climb but nothing for anyone who's reasonably mobile. Really pleased and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mas del Pechs
Hotel Le Mas del Pechs
#12 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bon Encontre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Encontre

Property: Hotel Bon Encontre
Address: de la Plane, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bon Encontre 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the heights of Sarlat, but only a 5 min walk from the medieval city. You will be charmed by Hotel Bon Encontre's Perigordin style and the panoramic view of the old city. We offer you 12 en-suite luxury bedrooms, private parking and an overflowing swimming pool with views of the city. There, you will enjoy calm and serenity in the historical heart of the Perigord noir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bon Encontre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bon Encontre France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing