We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you need for a perfect stay”
other travelers have booked this property
South facing private pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing private pool
Private pool 11 x 4 metres 17 th century stone house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
South facing private pool
Private pool 11 x 4 metres
17 th century stone house
Front terrace leads directly into king size bedroom
King size ensuite bathroom leads directly onto terrace
Two single adult beds with ensuite bathroom.
Lounge area
Well equipped kitchen
Side terrace.
Side terrace
Front terrace
Table tennis area next to the pool
Swing chair in secluded area.
The garden is large and has a variety of plants
Pool has Roman steps ideal for children
Pomegranates growing in the garden
Relax with a glass of wine whilst watching the hot air balloons pass by
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
azzie
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a perfect stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lavender Cottage has a superb location with stunning valley views and is well positioned for visiting sights such as Lascaux II. The cottage is equipped with everything you need, the pool area is very well maintained and the hammock is a lovely touch! The only thing to perhaps be aware of is that the bedrooms have no doors - one is upstairs and one downstairs so there are no privacy issues but the sound does carry so if you are upstairs wanting to sleep while someone is downstairs talking or watching TV, you'll struggle. Bring earplugs :-) Thank you to our hosts for a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thankyou for writing a review.
As you say there are no privacy issues at the house as the bedrooms are on separate floors but if members in your party do not keep the noise down at night I am afraid that is out of my control, as you say sound does travel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andymt196...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lavender Cottage is beautifully situated on the outskirts of the town of Sarlat, so there are plenty of facilities on your doorstep and many of the Dordogne's sites are well within reach. We particularly enjoyed our visit to Rocamadour.
But once you've done some sightseeing, the house is perfect to return to. It is as well equipped as any holiday property we've ever stayed in, and the pool is wonderful (and was very necessary during the hot weather that we enjoyed). There are lots of areas in which to relax in the gardens. Finally, huge thanks to our hosts Katie and Jeaneric, particularly for the home-grown tomatoes and figs and the delicious fig jam.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review.
We are happy you enjoyed your holiday.
When ever we have surplus home grown vegetables or fruit we are very happy to share with our guests, the pomegranates in the garden will be ready soon!
The house is well situated for visiting many of the tourist attractions in the Dordogne and Sarlat is one of the most popular town in the Aquitaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer6888...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally relaxed home from home.”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Peaceful location, but Sarlat in walking distance. Katie and Jeaneric are very welcoming hosts, the cottage has everything you need with great attention to detail. The pool and gardens are beautiful. Lots of local things to do and Katie and Jeaneric will help with directions, recommendations or bookings. Highly recommended, I'm sure we'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and such a lovely one aswell.
It was lovely to meet you both and we would certainly love for you to stay with us again......the champagne will be chilled and waiting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markwrite...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene and Sarlat”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this well equipped cottage- very close to Sarlat markets. Katie is very friendly and helpful, and there are two good outside areas for private relaxing and a pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was really nice meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette B
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sarlat is a beautiful Medieval Town with lots of lovely restaurants and shops. On a Wednesday there is a smaller market and on Saturday a larger one with stalls all around the town, definitely worth a visit with lots and food to try,
We had the most relaxing holiday we have ever had at Lavender Cottage, Katie is a wonderful friendly host and gave us lots of recommendations of places to see and restaurants to eat In. the swimming pool is secluded with an amazing view we had to ourselves.You can walk into Sarlat from the Cottage but it is a long hill which took us about 20 minutes, so we walked down but got a taxi back up, although you could drive down as we went in May parking is plentiful except on Market days.
We would definitely recommend staying here and hope to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, and such a lovely one.
We are happy you enjoyed your holiday and found time to relax.
It was lovely to meet you both and we would be delighted if you returned, the champagne will be waiting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity...
1 review
“A dream holiday home”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just spent 5 days in this lovely home and wished we had booked for longer, it is so lovely, full of charm and beautifully decorated.
The pool is superb and the setting of the house is ideallic.
We booked direct with the owners which was simple and we had very quick replies which was appreciated.
We are regular visitors to the Dordogne and found the location of this house super , we loved this house and will be staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and location
Liked least: Leaving this lovely home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Jeaneric does a daily clean of the pool early on a morning that is what keeps the pool area so enjoyable.
I do try to reply to guests as quickly as possible as I know planning holidays can be stressful.
We will be very happy for you to return to the house as it was a pleasure renting to such friendly people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari669...
1 review
“A really special holiday home.”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved everything about this house, it's in an excellent location, has an amazing pool and has everything you need for a great holiday.
Organic Fresh figs, tomatoes and courgettes were delivered by Jeaneric threw out our stay.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, we would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.
We were really happy that you enjoyed the organic produce, the white and purple figs are in plentiful supply in our garden so it seems silly not to share them with guests and Jeaneric always plants too many vegetables in his veg plot!
It is our pleasure if we can help you enjoy your holiday by making suggestions on places to visit or eat ( or avoid).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing