We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home in stunning scenic location”
The lovely award winning Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lovely award winning Butterfly Cottage
Amazing heated salt water swimming pool with a magnificent view of the valley Relax in our fabulous Jacuzzi over looking the beautiful Dordogne countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The lovely award winning Butterfly Cottage
Amazing heated salt water swimming pool with a magnificent view of the valley
Relax in our fabulous Jacuzzi over looking the beautiful Dordogne countryside
Bright and airy kitchen with a wonderful sky light and beautiful painted floors
Cozy living room area with wood burning stove, English TV, DVD and Music Player
Newly Updated for 2016 our gorgeous and cozy living room and dining room area
A beautiful and large master suite with lots of space so you can spoil yourself!!!
We have 5 acres of beautiful gardens for you to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the Dordogne
Have a lazy day in our garden swing, and read a book
Wonderful views in the back yard of our lovely fish pond and garden
Our lovely hamlet, Carmensac at sunset
Night skies over Les Hirondelles and the Butterfly Cottage
The glorious Beynac Castle as we are canoeing down the Dordogne River
Here we are canoeing the magical and grand caves on the Vezere River
The exquisite Gardens of Marqueyssac, just 15 minutes from the cottage
Summer time in the Dordogne!!!!
Ask me about this one, what a special treat, rock climbing at the gardens with a view
Fantastic shopping in Sarlat on market day
Carmensac is the perfect spot to walk, hike, and cycle just out our gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scmme2sai...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home in stunning scenic location”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The beautifully-decorated 'Butterfly Cottage' had everything you could want in a home - an extremely well-equipped kitchen, super comfortable bed, washer, dryer and ironing facilities, large living area with English TV channels and DVDs but most importantly the hosts went out of their way to help you have a perfect holiday. Linda and George provided great travel advice for the local area as well as giving us fresh eggs from their lovely chickens. The location is in beautiful countryside with easy access to many of the best châteaux and towns with superb views of the Dordogne river and valley. We visited many ancient troglodyte cave areas in this stunning part of France. A definite highlight was having a private chef Dimitri cook an absolutely superb 3-course meal in our cottage. Two days later we went on a wine tour of the Bergerac area with him which was also a highlight and well worth doing. Linda and George can arrange all of this easily. There is a local market as well, which was great fun for stocking up on supplies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmostel1
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage in the Dordogne Valley”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Butterfly Cottage to celebrate our 35th anniversary. I can't say enough positive things about the property, location, and hosts. The cottage is beautiful with a wonderful courtyard - and comes with fresh figs and eggs from the owners chickens. The location is perfect for a Dordogne vacation, we visited multiple castles, prehistoric caves, and canoed the Dordogne all within minutes of the cottage. What makes the cottage special is the hosts - Linda and George who offered excellent tourist advice and made our stay very comfortable. They also set us up with a real French chef right at the cottage who prepared a fantastic meal for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markgarla...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Butterfly Cottage for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have hoped for a better time! The cottage itself was gorgeous, and was stocked with everything we could have wanted after our journey there - everything from wine in the fridge to toiletries in the shower!
Linda (one of the owners) could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble! She recommended places for us to go, and restaurants we could visit, made bookings for us, and even offered to lend us aloe-vera when we got burnt! She definitely helped make it the best honeymoon we could have wanted, I don't think we'd have even found some of the places she recommended without her telling us about them.
We particularly enjoyed the swallows flying around, especially when they would dive bomb the swimming pool. Fresh eggs from the chickens whenever we asked, and we loved seeing their dog Roosevelt around the place - fluffiest dog we've ever seen and so friendly.
We also booked Dimitri for a night on Linda's recommendation - we were a little nervous at the idea of a private chef but Dimitri was lovely, and the food was the best either of us has ever eaten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base from which to explore the Dordogne!”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having just returned from our honeymoon in the region, my wife and I found the Butterfly Cottage a fabulous retreat from which to set our own pace for exploring the Dordogne.
The hosts Linda and George could not have been more helpful in providing tips, maps, and even helping to make bookings in French for activities for us over the phone.
The cottage is situated within truly lovely grounds, with the view from the pool and Jacuzzi every bit as stunning as the pictures might suggest. All the facilities you could possibly require are in the cottage, and Linda and George really go the extra mile to ensure every little touch is covered: you don't need to worry about coming with milk, spices, cleaning products and such because their attitude of providing their guests with everything they could need from the start of their holiday has all that covered.
We also really enjoyed getting regular fresh eggs from the 14 on-site "ladies" (chickens!).
We had an absolutely fantastic time here and were made to feel so welcome. We wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and plan to return ourselves in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonand...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for and more for a perfect holiday.”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I don't even know where to begin as I could say so much about how perfect our holiday was at the Butterfly Cottage. The property is everything you could wish for, beautiful surroundings, spotlessly clean heated pool, stunning large private patio area and the cottage itself is probably the most charming place we have ever stayed in, including the most comfortable bed ever!! Linda and George are the most lovely hosts and make you feel so welcome and it is so obvious that all they want Is for you to have the perfect holiday. LInda gives you ideas of local places to visit which we would never of found without her help and Is always there if you need her. I would thoroughly recommend Dimitri the chef to cook for you. This was a highlight of our holiday! I could go on and on but to sum it up I don't think you would ever find anywhere else so spotlessly clean, relaxing and peaceful as this wonderful cottage. Thankyou LInda and George again for our lovely holiday.
Sharon and Matt

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the whole holiday
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovemyhol...
England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Already booked to return”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the first time that we have ever booked to return somewhere before leaving. That should tell you how good this place is. The location is perfect - so peaceful & relaxing, yet within easy reach of all that the Dordogne region has to offer. The cottage is furnished to the highest standard and our outside space - a huge courtyard all to ourselves - was perfect to sit with a glass of wine in the evening watching the swallows fly in & out of the barn with their newly fledged young.
The pool is the perfect temperature, the hot tub a wonderful way to end the day and the grounds so lovingly tended by George & Linda.
If you just wanted to relax & recharge your batteries then look no further than this wonderful place. However, it would be a shame not to venture out to one of the magnificent markets to stock up on some gastronomic delights. Or visit the stunning villages of Domme , Beynac or Roque Gageac maybe. There is so much more we need to see & do.....oh & of course experience again the wonderful hospitality of Linda & George whose passion for this place is evident in everything that they do.
Go - before it gets booked up again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Linda & George's hospitality, the accommodation, the grounds, pool, hot-tub, area....impossible to separtate them as they all added equally tonthe experience
Liked least: Going home!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron P
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage,with excellent and helpful hosts”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After visiting The South of France for over 20 years and more recently stopping to see other parts of this large country in 2016 we opted for the Dordogne. Found Butterfly Cottage on the Web and liked what we saw and read so booked up. Great decision it was exactly what it said it was and then found it was owned and managed by a great couple Linda and George. Linda local knowledge was so useful and nothing was to much trouble for either of them. Fresh eggs from Les Girls (the chickens) an added bonus. So much so we have already booked for 2017.
Final point is you must have their friendly local chef Dimitri to visit and cook for you it is a superb meal

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing