We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent meal in a great setting”
Review of Charbonnel

Charbonnel
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $79
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Charbonnel restaurant seats on a river that forms the island of Brantome and the views from the open areas are great. The food is well presented and well made. My veal was simply delicious. The staff was really trying hard to make us feel as guests not just customers.
Also - as I live in New York metro area - the price of a menu of 48 Euro per person appeared quite affordable for the value, ambiance and overall experience.
I would highly recommend it to travelers passing through the area - just do not forget to make reservations as the place fills quickly!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank alexanderblakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Propriétaire at Charbonnel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018


it's a real pleasure to read your comment, we give the best of ourselves to satisfy you. it's successful with you. thank you very much, we hope to see you again in our restaurant.
regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 600 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2018

I can't comment on the food as we never got to eat here. Having booked a table 5 days ago, and confirmed the reservation this morning, we arrived at 19:10 and were told we did not have a reservation.

Not a problem, as they could fit us in, and we were shown to a table outside, told that we could have a drink on the terrace, but dinner was served inside as it was too cold
( 25 degrees) and another table dining outside already.

We ordered 2 G and T's and were given menus, and told again, after asking, that we could not eat outside.

Sadly, that was the last contact we had with a member of staff as we were promptly ignored for an hour and left feeling hungry.

45 minute drive for two drinks costing €18.. A great way to spend your wedding anniversary.

We will not be going back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewWC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We were a group of four couples who are here for dinner. We chose the three courses for €48 and with wine, apero, coffee and a tip the bill came to €70pp.

We sat on the outside terrace, which was lovely, overlooking the river. The staff are all bilingual and very attentive and professional, they even brought us blankets for when it got cold.

There was a lovely choice of about 4/5 starters, mains and desserts.

There are also lots of little ‘amuse bouche’ served between the courses and all were suitable for vegetarians.

I started with a crab dish, it tasted wonderful and was beautifully presented, four of us had this starter and unfortunately all of us had pieces of crab shell in our dish.

My husband had a dish with lobster and a large prawn, both of which he felt were undercooked.

I then had the sea bream, which was lovely and again beautifully presented and tasted lovely.

My husband had the veal which he said was lovely.

All the desserts were very nice and there is a great selection of wine.

This is a lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting and I’m sure we will return in the future.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LePatioDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Propriétaire at Charbonnel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear customer,
Thank you for you comment
We are happy that you had a lovely meal. See you next time maybe :)
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Visited Brantome and our first choices for lunch were full. However, I was glad - because we ate here instead.
It is a bit pricier than we intended but for the quality of food and service we experienced, it was very good value.
There was a menu at about €30 for main and pud. I opted for a menu at €48 which had three courses and more choice of mains.
Including aperitifs, wine and coffees four of lunched for €188.
I ate foie gras, veal and a choux patisierre desert.
Thoroughly recommended for a bit of a treat.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Largesarge1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Propriétaire at Charbonnel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

it's a real pleasure to read your comment. A big thank you from all of us.
and hope to see you next time.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

This is a wonderful restaurant and, as the weather was pleasantly warm, we dined out on the terrace (shown in the picture).The choice of dishes was excellent, all well-served, hot and tasty. Additional extras were regularly provided as amuse bouche. Service was of the highest order. Such an extremely high standard does not come cheap but, if you don't mind the cost, go for it!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Propriétaire at Charbonnel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure and we hope to seeing you again.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charbonnel also viewed

 
Brantome, Dordogne
Brantome, Dordogne
 

Been to Charbonnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing