We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pause Express

Pause Express
Reserve with
Pause Express is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
preston, lancs
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Their terrace is a little haven. Food good though a little pricey. Burger and a coke 8.50 but it was cooked freshly, healthy and tasty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeonline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple but Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fresh, locally sourced produce, tasty food.

If you want give the usual 2 or 3 course plat lunch a miss but still want more than a sandwich then this is ideal. Mainly burgers, made with fresh meat and cooked as you want them, but a few alternatives are available. We ate here twice .... delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple, lovely, friendly, inexpensive, lovely terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've been living in Sth France a while and we keep returning to this lovely little cafe. The food is simple, fresh and delicious, the menu small (which, and I hope I'm right...!, I always feel indicates better quality and freshness of ingredients given the restaurant is more likely to go through produce more quickly). The staff are all super friendly, the outdoor terrace is peaceful and away from the touristy part of town (albeit a few metres given the village is so tiny!). We've eaten here 3 times because it's such fresh food and although simple, great quality. I've had the steak hache twice and quiche of the day once, my husband the bavette 3 times. Each time: perfectly cooked and presented with very fresh salad ingredients. The staff are so sweet and take time to listen to your order. The meat is locally sourced. Voila! This place deserves to absolutely thrive!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smileyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angouleme
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very pleasant light lunch for the french”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The french eat well at lunch time, usually 3 courses or more and coffee and wine, us brits often desire something a little lighter. What a find, excellent service, ultra clean and delicious, locally sourced, quality meat, cooked to individual taste. Never tasted a better burger and salad in the sunshine, in a pretty courtyard
Merci beaucoup

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RozAngouleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roussines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We ate outside in their relaxed historic courtyard, across the lane from the restaurant. The food was lovely, and was served to us by friendly staff who explained that all of the food was sourced around Brantome and then homecooked. Would recommend Pause Express to everyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pause Express also viewed

Brantome, Dordogne
 

Been to Pause Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing