We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel with great service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in a traditional room which was quite nice. The hotel is beautiful and sitting right on the river is in a wonderful location to sit outside and eat or have a drink. Service was wonderful. No complaints here. And Brantome is a lovely village with ample good restaurants. Highly recommend both the hotel and village. It is a good base for exploring the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TMitch6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    97
    39
    18
    9
See reviews for
38
318
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First, the staff was absolutely wonderful. There is no hyperbole here--they are top-notch, hard-working and friendly, and are quite earnest about making sure you have a memorable stay. The location is unbeatable. Lounging by the river, drinking rose and kir royales, is a great way to spend an afternoon, reading and talking. We stayed for three nights and didn't wander out of Brantome--there was too much going on in that village, from river jousting to parades to antique markets. There is a fine array of places to eat and drink, and to shop. The hotel was lovely, although we stayed in a "traditional" room (we saved the extra euros for food & wine!), which had character. We ate one night at the restaurant, in which the food was fine (we ate better in town) but, again, the view was unbeatable. All in all, a place we would go back to for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnergirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 1 night and had booked a traditional room when we arrived we had been upgraded to a character room which was fantastic with beautiful views over the water.It also had a jacuzzi and terrace which we could not use as it was pouring with rain!Such a shame.We found the staff to be very helpful although some could not speak a lot of english and we can only speak a little french.We went out for dinner and came back and had a drink in the lounge and for what we had i did not think it was overly expensive.Breakfast was good and the restaurant has lovely views over the water.Brantome itself is very old and picturesque.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

expensive, beautiful, relaxing, rushing river/water everywhere. worth it for a couple of nights. if you have lots of luggage be sure to have porter carry upstairs for you. free parking on site by porter. restaruant good for one meal at dinner but otherwise go elsewhere. must be a new staff. restaurant service spotty and disorganized but pleasant. food was uninspiring for a relais and chateau. sat us at wrong table and almost no english spoken. be sure your ac remote is set for heat or cold when you visit. apparently the remote has to be adjusted by staff depending on weather you want heat or ac. overall not worth the money unless you just want to hang out and rest at this property for a couple of days and not do much to recharge your batteries. was cold and rainy this june. july would be a better month. if hot you have ac in your room.

Room Tip: try to get room in main hotel but annex is nice as well. lots of steps if you have a lot of luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clousseaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Whilst we were hoping for something special resembling the pictures we had seen, charmed when we arrived at this hotel.

We drove along a very picturesque cobbled road, past the bell tower and the church, to a cave where there was a sign for the garage. We were met by delightful staff who took our car, our luggage and us, across to reception. The check in was pleasant , informative and so welcoming. We were subsequently taken on a tour and then to our room.

Whilst the hotel was quaint indeed charming, if you are looking for modernity wifi that works in your room, etc., please by pass this one. What you will get is excellent service, beautiful features in the rooms with amenities and elegant food and wine. For this you will pay a very fair price.

The countryside in the Dordogne is exceptional and what a special place to use as a base. Would we go back? Indeed we would.

Room Tip: Wifi is available but not necessarily in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finchamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just stayed here for one night but we really enjoyed the experience. The town of Brantome appears to be somewhat of a tourist trap, complete with huge fun fair on the day we arrived, but our hotel was a nice escape from the noise and clamour of the town.
After a short walk around the town we really enjoyed sitting on the terrace beside the river with a glass of champagne soaking up the views.
Dinner in the restaurant was very enjoyable although it probably ranked 3rd of the 3 dinners that we enjoyed on our tour of the Dordogne. The obligatory Fois Gras starter was followed by a beautiful looking, and tasting, pork dish and I actually can't recall what was we had to finish off as the wine was flowing freely at this stage as was the painfully expensive Armagnac!
The staff were great, particularly our waiter in the restaurant who we had great fun with. Overall it was a lovely experience if a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantaman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room is outdated but charming , in the town's character and spirit. Bathroom is very very small and there is no hook for the hand held shower.
Weather did not permit that we use the hot tub .
We only had breakfast there but it was disappointing, not generous and not well presented. at 22€ not worth it so we did not try diner! The young person who served us had obviously just started . the reception people were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
0.9 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
4.8 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin de l'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de l'Abbaye

Property: Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Address: 1 avenue Pierre de Bourdeilles, 24310 Brantome, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Moulin de l'Abbaye 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Moulin de l'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin De l`Abbaye Hotel Brantome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing