We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bastide de Chapdeuil - Chambres d'hotes
Ranked #1 of 8 Brantome B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our French trip in June this year was prompted by a wedding invitation. The event over the June Bank Holiday weekend was wonderful with absolutely perfect weather. We had decided to stay on after the celebrations were over and on the Monday having said good bye to the other guests we headed for La Bastide. The plan was to base ourselves there for 3 nights and to visit a number of recommended towns/villages in the locality. La Bastide is a beautiful renovated house set in its own grounds. It has lovely views out over the surrounding fields which can be admired from a number of locations - the patio area where one gets served breakfast or early dinner (weather permitting) or from the poolside area that boasts both sunbeds and a covered lounge area. The rooms are excellent - good size with large en suite facilities. The internal cinema adds to the quirkeyness of the location. But what makes La Bastide different from the usual accomodation is the quality of the food and the energy/warmth and friendship offered by Franck and Michaela. They are both lovely people constantly checking that your stay with them is going well. The breakfast they offer each morning is beautiful. It was served outside on 2 days which added to the event. We decided to take the offer of dinner each evening which turned out to be a gastronomic delight - Michaela produced a variety of dishes that even now have my taste buds salivating. Simply wonderful. How to convince you to go there? Well perhaps you might give it a miss and just leave this little treasure to those of us that have had the good luck to find it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time Franck and Michaela were fantastic hosts, the room was outstanding and hospitality second to none, breakfasts were enjoyable and please try evening meal as was very special. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The couple that operates La Bastide de Chapdeuil purchased this ancient stone structure and have transformed it into a very comfortable B&B. The setting is tranquil, in a small park with a fine view of the countryside. The rooms are inventively designed with a clever mix of old and new elements. Breakfast includes house made jams and cake. Everything is quite beyond expectations for such a modestly priced inn.

Room Tip: The five rooms are named after spices. Cannelle is our favorite flavor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D3California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

During our two week plus Dordogne trip we stayed in four different B&B’s. All of them were very good indeed, but our clear favorite was La Bastide in Chapdeuil, where we spent four nights. It was a good base to explore the Perigord Blanc (Brantome, Bourdeille, Perigueux) and as far as Poitou-Charente. Chapdeuil is so quiet that one guide book asserts you can hear the cats wandering around! Each of the rooms is very nicely decorated (by Michaela) and comfortable, and the décor in each is very different. Frank and Michaela could not have been more hospitable. Each morning we were greeted by music from Bach to Billy Holiday. The breakfasts were excellent, and one evening we dined with Frank and Michaela. We had asked for a light meal; the truffle omelet set the standard for all future omelets! We delighted in the terrace and the back yard around the pool, with its lovely view over the Perigord countryside. We hope to come back soon and just spend some time there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S&JB1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

La Bastide de Chapdeuil is decorated and finished beautifully. Our room was appointed superbly with a large modern bathroom and high end fixtures. Michaella and Franck's attention to detail was incredible. They greeted us upon arrival with coffee and fresh cake. Breakfast was a treat, with Franck making fresh crepes. We very much enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We booked into La Bastide as a base in the Dordogne from which to attend a friend's wedding. On arrival we were treated to a beautiful lunch prepared especially for us by Mikhail, then we had a swim in the lovely pool. The surroundings are simply stunning, and nothing was too much for Frank and his wife. We had two really big rooms, individually styled and absolutely beautifully decorated.
We wished we had been able to stay longer - this b and b is a real retreat.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodenplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank jerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
9.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
9.2 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
242 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
163 reviews
9.1 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
474 reviews
9.2 mi away
B&B Au Nid des Thes
B&B Au Nid des Thes
#2 of 8 in Brantome
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Chapdeuil - Chambres d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Chapdeuil - Chambres d'hotes

Address: Chapdeuil | La Pouze, 24320 Brantome, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brantome
Price Range: $93 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastide de Chapdeuil charming in the heart of the Perigord Vert is the perfect destination for your holiday. A park with swimming pool with a barbecue for the summer, a fireplace with theater for winter evenings. You will experience relaxation in a welcoming and friendly family run where everything and serenity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Bastide de Chapdeuil - Chambres d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing