We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days during September.I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.All the staff in the hotel and restaurant were very pleasant and Brantome is a lovely setting.Carol in reception was very helpful I am not sure if she is the Manager or Owner or indeed both but she runs a fine establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our party of 4 adults stayed here for 3 nights from 15th to 18th August 2012. It is in the most beautiful location in Brantome and while we didn't have a room with a balcony we were not disappointed. My advice to anyone looking is book this hotel and book dinner! All I can say about the experience of eating there is wow! We went for the least expensive set menu, which is listed as 3 courses, but believe me you get so much more than you expect. The wine list is very good and I don't think anyone would be disappointed. On the first night we arrived they were full but they found a table for us and we were treated to fabulous service even though we were not in the main restaurant or terrace. After that we were in the main restaurant but the hotel and restaurant get booked so my advice book both early.

Room Tip: The road could be a little noisy at certain times so try and opt for a room away from road, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The family room was big, clean and was well equipped and over looked the river. The room was in the annexe which is across the street from the main hotel. At check in we were brought to our room by the check in staff which was good. Parking is in the public car park but there are spaces reserved for hotel guest right beside the annexe. We would have taken dinner in the hotel but they were full but seems to me that the same is true for many restaurants in Brantome during the Summer, nevertheless the suggested alternative by the hotel staff worked out fine. We took breakfast on the terrace which was good and they only charged us half price for the children. The cost of the room was good value for me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

In the middle of a fairly washed out "Summer" holiday in the Dordogne, the owners of our accommodation recommended this restaurant to us. The six of us that went have all enjoyed several Michelin Star restaurants and we are all amazed that this restaurant has not yet been awarded one. Set in a beautiful location on the river, the decor and layout of the restaurant created a wonderful ambience. The service was impeccable but friendly and fun. The food was out of this world. They were happy to accommodate our awkward wish to have different set menus and therefore mismatching numbers of courses. Even more than that, they added in extra amuse bouche type courses to those of us having less. The wine list was impressive and if anything wasn't available they offered us a fantastic replacement at an incredibly reasonable price such as the 1976 Monbazilliac. Two of our party had been to Le Moulin de l'Abbaye the evening before and had been very disappointed with it, particularly given the price. In comparison Charbonnel was far, far better for less money and we all came away saying how it was the best meal we'd had in a very long time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaBFarningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

First of all, let me say that there is some confusion about this hotel. It seems to go by two different names. We stayed in the annexe, which is across the road from the restaurant but which shares the same river view. It is a renovated building with huge rooms and a gorgeous bathroom and very stylish fittings and excellent linen and divine curtains. Quite grand really and well priced for a triple, at around euro 125 from memory. My granddaughter scored her first queen sized bed in her half of the room and she was very impressed. it provided a very comfortable and spacious accomodation for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank morgana3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night, whilst drivng through France. As it was October and during the week, we got a room on the day. The manager was very helpful - in fact realy made the hotel. She showed us rooms so that we could make a choice, however, when she was not around, the answer was generally 'no'. It was unusually hot for this time of year, so we asked if we could have dinner on the terrace - there was not one person in the restaurant, but they said 'no'. We did not realise they did hot breakfast, but at 10am we asked if it was possible to have something - i think we were a few mins after 10, when b/fast fnished and the answer, was 'no'.
The bedroom was on the 1st floor, overlooking the water and the actual sleeping room was very nice. Noisy, though as we were in the corner room, near the bridge, so lots of cars/trucks' main route through the town, However, the bathroom was really unpleasant. It did not matter that it was dated (pink) but there is no excuse for dirt in a bathroom. There is now free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13mazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and cannot understand why this hotel does not feature higher in the ratings of hotels in Brantome! Our room, as we had requested overlooked the river complete with balcony and was charming and well equipped. Nice bathroom, air-conditioning and good bed.
The meals in the restaurant both evening and breakfast were first class and the service friendly and efficient. We had the half-board package but the evening menu was varied and we realised that the Chef here is outstanding (some of the best meals of our 3 week holiday in fact). A very nice and appreciated touch was that on our third night they gave us a superior menu at no extra charge, which widened our choice even further.
We would point out that there is no lift and the two flights of stairs can be daunting for the less fit. There is limited free parking for hotel guests on the 'payant' car park across the road. Free WiFi. We would certainly return to this wonderful establishment, which represents the best in French hotels!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
0 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
0.2 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
242 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
398 reviews
5 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel

Address: 57 rue Gambetta, 24310 Brantome, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Price Range: $94 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing