We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were here for dinner only - one of the best we tried in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Although our first visit, this restaurant is a local favourite with friends we were with. Menu choice good, food and service were very good. Prices are a little more reasonable than other alleged 1st class local restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 212 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel looks directly over the Dronne river.

Rooms are rather old but very well kept, clean and bright.

The Restaurant was really tops, our dinner was superb, excellent wines and delicious desserts.

When in the area we will surely return.

Parking outside the hotel but no problem to find a parking space.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patriciazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We booked this hotel out of season, (March 2011) for a stay of just one night. The room we were given was really small, right on top floor extreme left side of building. No Balcony, despite booking a river view. This wasn't so bad until we discovered the next morning that we were the only guests staying so it was annoying they put us in such a small room when clearly they have bigger rooms with balconies downstairs.

It was apparent though, as the room was pretty cold when we arrived, they had put us in the smallest room so they did not to have to heat a larger room. We had to ask them to turn the heating up in our room as even turning the radiator up to max it was still cold.

The bathroom was OK, except one major exception, which always annoys me beyond belief. There was no Shower curtain in bath/shower, and no shower screen

So inevitably, no matter how careful you are not to splash water, when having a shower as both me and my partner did, the entire bathroom was soaked, floor, towels, the tissue box and al tisues, the toilet roll, my clothes, the basin, everything was wet. This is also extremely dangerous also as you step out onto a very wet floor which is very slippy.

So despite doing the usual 'crouch down' in the bath type shower you have to have when there is no shower curtain still everything got soaking wet!

I find it hard to believe in 2011, that hotels of this stature and good reputation omit such a vital thing, which would only take someone 20 minutes to put up and costs less than eu20. If you are the hotel owner - do you not know that this is a crazy omission. You cannot have a shower without making the entire bathroom wet!!!

Breakfast was again OK, the bread seemed a bit stale which was very surprising for a French Hotel, but that aside it was acceptable.

All in all, I can't recommend this hotel, it may have been because we went off season, but to be honest if your going to open, keep it warm, make sure the bread served at breakfast is fresh, and please make sure you put a shower screen/curtain up in the showers. You bathrooms are not wet rooms, so why are you trying to turn them into one ??

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon_TGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Chabrol for three nights and found it to be a great location for side trips to the Chateau of Hautefort and the village of St. Jean-de-Cole. Its location in Brantome is very pictuiresque with views of the river and close proximity to everything.
There is no internet in the hotel, but there is an internet cafe a block or two away. The room and bath were very pleasant, but for those travelers who cannot comfortably climb stairs, stay away! There is no elevator at the hotel and climbing three sets of stairs many times a day can get tiring. If you are having dinner in the hotel, stay away from "Pork shanks with Truffles". My plate arrived with 5 circular objects on it that were just fat - no meat to be seen. I love Creme brulee but was very disappointed in their "Six flavors of Creme Brulee" - the flavors include chickory, thyme, saffron, and leeche (yuck!).
I wouldl recommend dining somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francophile72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Absolutely everything about our stay here was above and beyond our expectations!
The restaurant was marvellous, our meal was not cheap, but certainly worth what we paid for it by comparison to all other meals taken during our week in the region!
The hotel room and the view from it were delightful, as is the whole village. A must on anyone's itinerary

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank eastrengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed for one night at the end of August. We were delayed by bad traffic and called ahead to explain that we would be late. On arrival we discovered that the receptionist had stayed on nearly two hours past her normal hours to facilitate us.

The rooms were comfortable and clean and both looked over the river. In the morning the sun streamed in and created a really breathtaking scene.

The breakfast was fine. Typically French.

We loved our brief stay and found the staff very pleasant. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D4surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I´m not so impressed of the famouse Brantome. In some way a liveless place. Like a museum. Though the surroundings are very nice. The only reason I will return is Chabrol. The rooms are old and nice. Some with view over the river. Gives good value for money. But the important reason for us coming back (this is the only hotel, out of last trips nine we will come back to) is not the rooms. You can find their like, in many places. We will make the long detour for the restaurant. Gives better food and service, than more expensive places. In fact, Chabrol gave us two of the three dinners in France we will remember. (The third was in the simle place at the downside by the square in Cogolin. ) And it´s nice to sit at the terrace, over the river.
PS. We found all the staff in Chabrol very helpful and friendly. though we speak nearly no french. And it seems to me a very good policy, to place big parties inside. I think many restaurants do the same. If space outside is limited.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brantome
0 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
243 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
400 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel

Address: 57 rue Gambetta, 24310 Brantome, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Brantome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Brantome
Price Range: $92 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing