We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame”
Review of Le Vieux Four - CLOSED

Le Vieux Four
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Monsec, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Shame”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Tried to visit but would seem this restaurant is now closed and up for sale which is a shame as there is a lot of potential here

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    26
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Interesting location, good food, not enough waiting staff”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We choose to go here as it offered an alternative cuisine to the majority of French restaurants in the town. The setting is very interesting as the restaurant is effectively in a cave. As we arrived early and were the first customers there we got to sit in the cave side of the restaurant. The waitress who greeted us was very friendly.

The menu is quite extensive, particularly from a pizza point of view which actually made it quite difficult what to choose. Three out of the four of us opted for pizza, the other going for Spaghetti Bolognese. The food was served quickly and was generally good. Portion size was on the large side. I would probably not recommend the 'Brantomaise' pizza purely for the fact that the goat's cheese tended to overpower the duck and other ingredients on it.

As our meal progressed, the restaurant starting getting busy to point where it was virtually full and as the evening went on we realised that the waitress that greeted us was the only waitress there. So she had to deal with everything; greeting guests and showing them to their table, taking orders, serving food and drinks and taking payment. While she was constantly friendly she was completely run off her feet and therefore the good service we had when we arrived slipped somewhat towards the end.

Prices were good for the quality of the food etc.

As an alternative to the standard cuisine in the area we'd recommend the restaurant. However, arrive early and don't expect to leave early!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsec, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Now dissapointing”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times over the past 8 years which in itself says a lot, however, each visit for the past year has dissapointed in some way. We return because the food is good and has never been an issue, the service and attitude of the staff however leaves a lot to be answered. On one particular evening they had run out of many drinks and food items, we had to re choose 3 times because the waitress discovered they weren't available any longer even after suggesting things from the specials board. When busy, the too few, staff are hectic,stressed and forgetful with no aplolgy for errors. As far as the food goesI would recommend the Pizzas and all the starters we have tried have enjoyed, this is why we return, albeit reluctantly, but in hope that it will improve!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I decided to purchase one of their pizzas to take into the countryside for a picnic. When I opened the box I discovered this most exceptional thing, It seemed to be made from some processed ingredients placed in the middle of a cracker, I was not impressed and neither was my dog.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadtripbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, family pizza place”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went here with our fairly picky kids. One had a pizza and one had a spag bol. Both got eaten! The restaurant is actually in a cave which is quite fun, and the pizzas were Italian-style thin-based. Nice food, nice environment, helpful waitress.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mat-Ingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vieux Four also viewed

 
Brantome, Dordogne
Brantome, Dordogne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing