We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ate here twice”

Hotel-restaurant Les Jardins de Brantome
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Brantome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The food was really amazing and it was good value for money. The atmosphere and service was of a very high standard!! We had to come back the second night to taste what we would've missed if we hadn't. The wine recommendation was perfect.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    42
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you go to Brantome, go to this restaurant.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a dinner in Les Jardins de Brantome. This restaurant is a hotel restaurant. The ambient is really delightful, the staff was very kind and spoke English (we had some difficulties to find people who speak English in a lot of places in Brantome). I ordered a lamb that was delicious. The food was excellent. If you go to Brantome this an excellent option to have a meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brrobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfully French”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely little restaurant,Madam runs front of house and Monsieur
does the cooking.We had dinner one evening, truly delicious

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RKO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Memorably good”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It's not that well signed, but on no account miss this wonderful restaurant on one of the approach roads into Brantome. The rain meant we ate inside not out so we didn't see much of the jardins. But inside is lovely too - a coolly elegant space, comfortable but restrained. The food is exceptional. A starter of mushrooms, crevettes and parmesan shavings, decorated with borage flowers, was as good on the tongue as it was on the eye. Croustillant d'agneau - slow-cooked lamb in filo pastry - was less successful in presentation terms but harboured wonderful deeply savoury flavours. A chocolate souffle hiding a salted caramel made the perfect ending. This was the 34-euro prix-fixe menu and for cooking of this quality and originality, a bargain. With coffee, and not stinting on wine, we paid 58 euros a head. Well worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Easy to overlook, but don't”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

During our two week stay in the area we made a point of revisiting this lovely restaurant which deserves being rated the best in Brantome. The service and food are both excellent and the overall experience very authentic a enjoyable. There are more picturesque restaurants and locations in town but none are better value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauljoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel-restaurant Les Jardins de Brantome also viewed

 
Brantome, Dordogne
 

Been to Hotel-restaurant Les Jardins de Brantome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing