We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Arcachon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Villa Regina
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Arcachon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The position of this hotel was fine with a pleasant walk through the park into the town via the lift. Both the park and the lift close at 10pm but the hotel can still be reached easily by a path which runs around the outside of the park. The free parking was also good. The entrance from the car park however, left a lot to be desired with long dark corridors which were in need of redecoration. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the central area of the hotel was bright and welcoming. The room we were allocated was anything but. On the plus side the bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable but the carpet was so worn and dirty looking that I didn't want to remove my shoes. Reading the other reviews i think we were unlucky but I would not want to return to this hotel. I would highly recommend Arcachon and the Dune du Pilat both of which I thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Residence Villa Regina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 238 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

The whole area of 'Ville d'Hiver' in Arcachon has definitely seen better days. However, with saying that, there are still some magnificent buildings that are still in everyday use. The style of architecture ranges from Art Nouveau and Gothic through to some examples of Art Deco.

Externally, the Villa Regina is more reminiscent of something from 'The Addams Family', 'The Munsters' or even 'Psycho'. Internally, it's long corridors led me to expect a pair of sinister twins waiting for me at each turn. The rooms are fine although somewhat dated and decorated in a somewhat 'spartan' manner.

Quiet and peacefully located above Arcachon itself, it takes about 10 to 15 minutes to walk down into the town, a little bit longer to walk back up.

Don't expect to be able to check-in early or even leave your bags securely, as no staff were present when we arrived about 1pm - it was eerily deserted. Check-in is only available after 3pm.

Free parking for guests to the rear of the hotel is a plus.

Breakfast is available, although it was not quite as substantial as I was expecting for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Billy-Bollockchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked last minute for 3nights, what a lovely place, so nice to have an apartment rather than just an hotel room. Comfy bed, well equipped little kitchen (no kettle, but I never travel without my small one anyway). Stunning 19c house, and a place for the bikes too. The staff were very charming and helpful, full marks to them. Arcachon was a little jewel, we cycled all over, down to the Dune, across to the Cap, was very pleased there was a lift from the town!! Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Staying in Arcachon is a great experience, as one can imagine the style in which our predecessors must .have passed their time in this elegant resort. The villas on the hill are a fascinating record of the architecture favoured in the late 1800's. Villla Regina now operates as an apartment rental hotel in which there is little al sense of community. The apartment we had was on the ground floor with a garden view. The kitchen area coped easily with a continental breakfast and drinks but is .not really suitable for cooking a meal. We also found the lack of a comfortable chair disappointing. The pool was cold but clean. The walk downhill to the town took about 10 minutes but slightly longer uphill on the way home! Perfectly adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BucksFizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A late finish of my business day, and too tired to drive home I had a quick look on a few booking sites and came up with this place in the beautiful winter town area of Arcachon, if you don't know it, take a walk around, the architecture is wonderful.
The Villa Regina is a beautiful building in itself, although mostly used for weekly lets in the summer, they rent out the studios for single nights at other times of the year.
The people on reception were surprised to see me arrive as I had just booked on a site and they had not yet received confirmation. No problem they organised everything in 2 minutes and I found myself in a flat with a lounge, kitchenette, small bedroom and bathroom, far more that I needed for one night but nice, quiet, clean and confortable, all that for 70 euros; What more can you want.

Room Tip: The Villa is in a quiet area so most rooms seem to be well positioned
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here in May 2011, self catering for one night only. The room was ensuite with all the usual extras. The kitchen area was very well equipped with enough cutlery etc for 4 people. The breakfast was extensive and nicely served by pleasant staff. And it was very reasonably priced. Recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are quieter but the front hotel rooms are not noisy at night in any case
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The rooms are nice and big with a kitchenette. The hotel is nice and clean and quiet. Good value for money with nice friendly staff. A very Victorian style feel to this big old hotel with a large parking area and a huge glass sunroom in which to relax.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chaddy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcachon
1.0 mi away
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
#6 of 32 in Arcachon
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#2 of 32 in Arcachon
648 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
#4 of 32 in Arcachon
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Atlantic Hotel
Grand Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 32 in Arcachon
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel les Vagues
Hotel les Vagues
#15 of 32 in Arcachon
165 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon
Best Western Plus Design & Spa B...
#2 of 4 in La Teste-de-Buch
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Villa Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Villa Regina

Address: 11 allee Corrigan, 33120 Arcachon, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Arcachon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Arcachon
Price Range: $94 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Villa Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Villa Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Arcachon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing