We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quaint hotel”
Review of Hotel les Vagues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel les Vagues
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Arcachon
France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, quaint hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here. Bedroom basic but ok, television set up worst ever seen. Bathrooms are tired and could easily be updated. Parking is a nightmare and if you don't get a space then really difficult to find one on the road within easy walking distance. The location of the hotel, right next to the sea, is superb. You can sit on the terrace, have drinks brought down to you, then walk own the steps straight onto the beach for a walk or swim. Perfect ! We found the reception staff all very friendly as we're the staff in the restaurant, which overlooks the sea. It is a good 10 minute walk into the centre of Arcachon but there are local shops nearby if you want to buy bread, drinks etc. Once in Arcachon there are lots of restaurants and shops etc.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LestinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    74
    40
    22
    5
See reviews for
21
96
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The position and view from my bedroom window has coloured this review---I would definitely only stay here in a sea view bedroom.
The initial experience was not good---traffic problems at Bordeaux airport meant a 3 hour journey --- I drove into car park which was sadly full, heaved my suitcase up the steps and was greeted by a very unfriendly man on reception-- I do speak some French--but he was not helpful at all Any way checked in struggled up to my room---still no help ----but than goodness for the room and the view I was not disappointed! I then had to set about reversing my car out of car park to find a space on the road --- took some time :-)
Didn't eat in restaurant as wanted to have a meal more centrally but it looked very appealing and breakfast next morning was good including the service!
I would go back here but only in a sea view room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 Nights, the hotel itself had very simple and dated rooms. I think the hotel was built quote some years ago and could do with some upgrading. The room was small but still manageable. Breakfast spread was minimal but as with most French hotels.

The hotel is a good 10 min walk to the center of Arcachon City.

All in all if you are a simple person and would like to appreciate the great view for a reasonable price than i would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a higher floor to enjoy nicer sea views. The room on the 2nd floor does come with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrix_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We (family 2 adults, 2 small children) had reserved communicating rooms non-seaview. The rooms are actually quite small, but we're used to that in France. They were in perfect shape (something we are not used to in France) allthough the bathrooms could use a little updating. Everything was very nice and clean.

Dinner (and breakfast) in the more than typical French-seaside-hotel dining room was included in our room reservation. We liked the restaurant and the food equally. Staff was generally very friendly and personal.

We enjoyed stepping directly on the beach from the hotel. The sandy beach there is not really used for sun bathing (due to the tide), but really good for seeking shells and playing with sand an water.

Yes, the parking lot is small, but we were never last to arrive so no we did not have the parking problem :-)

No, there is no elevator from the parking lot to the lobby. That should not be a problem either for these few steps. Staff is willing to help in case you need it, I guess.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

tried to book another stay in this hotel, as we had such a great holiday last year. I have been informed that the restaurant only serves breakfast, and no longer serves evening dinner. great hotel, but can be quite a walk to the nearest restaurants, love Arcachon but decided to book elsewhere as you can't always rely on the climate.

Room Tip: sea view rooms have a great view, but we went for a garden room and were told by other guests thqat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here as part of a group of six motorcyclists touring round France. You could not ask to be closer to the sea as the rear of the hotel terrace is the sea wall. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned and the restaurant food was highly satisfactory. The restaurant closed unexpectedly on our second night but the town itself is a short 10 minute walk away and it has a surfeit of options for eating. Some guests who arrived later on seemed to have difficulty finding space in the car park which will not accommodate all hotel guests but there seemed to be parking available on street outside. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and the rail station but this meant it was quite quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc0ttietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Have holidayed in Arcachon for many years and tried unsucessfully to stay at Les Vagues, but as they had been fully booked, we had only been able to eat here. This year we booked. We had a fantastic stay. Room was superb, clean, bright and well maintained. Food excellent. Staff welcoming and helpful. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcachon hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#1 of 32 in Arcachon
631 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inter Hotel le Nautic
Inter Hotel le Nautic
#4 of 32 in Arcachon
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
#6 of 32 in Arcachon
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
#5 of 32 in Arcachon
562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Atlantic Hotel
Grand Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 32 in Arcachon
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#2 of 32 in Arcachon
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Vagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Vagues

Property: Hotel les Vagues
Address: 9 boulevard de l Ocean | 9, Boulevard de L'ocean, 33120 Arcachon, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Arcachon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Arcachon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Vagues 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Welcome to our family hotel & warm in Arcachon - We invite you to discover the charm of the Bassin d'Arcachon in our family hotel located on a quiet sandy beach with direct access and breathtaking views of the sea. This charming hotel will transport you to another time when to stay or for a seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel les Vagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing