We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Food and Superb Staff!”
Review of Les Platanes

Les Platanes
Ranked #6 of 229 Restaurants in Anglet
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I dined at Les Platanes not knowing what to expect— we were completely blown away! The food was absolutely delicious and the service was prompt. We had the shrimp and the swordfish, both cooked to perfection. We topped it off with Le Pain Perdu which was one of the best desserts we had while in France. Our waitress, Isabella, was funny, enthusiastic, and very kind to us non-French speakers. The owner, Vero, came over to greet us personally and gave us wonderful suggestions as to where to visit while in Biarritz and Anglet. The overall experience was delightful, and we cannot wait to come back. You will not be disappointed!

Thank Noelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeroPlatanes64, Propriétaire at Les Platanes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello !!!!!
Thank you so much for your nice words concerning my staff and the restaurant .
Please try to come back before your departure !
Take care . And see you soon may be ! Véro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I were in Biarritz for three days and we happened upon this restaurant. We are two English speakers who don’t speak a lick of French and although what initially was a Bit or a challenge our experience turned into a fantastic immersive adventure. We had the google translate app on our phone so we decoded the menu. Our waitress spoke a tiny bit of English and was so excited to try it out on us. We got the best seafood we had in France. We got swordfish and shrimp. After our meal the owner of the restaurant, Vero, came out and chatted with us for a long while. We worked in New York for 10 years (with Anthony Bourdain) and spoke perfect English. We finished our meal with the French toast dessert which blew my mind. Go here if you want the best food and the best time!

Thank NicolePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeroPlatanes64, Propriétaire at Les Platanes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey ! Thank you so much for your nice post on Trip Advisor .
It was a real pleasure to talk to you and to help you .
I am glad that you appreciated the food and the atmosphere in my restaurant .
We hope to see you again next year , who knows !!!!
Enjoy your trip and take care . Véro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018

Les Platanes thanks to Vero and her team has become the place to eat in Anglet! The atmosphere is laid back, great service and the quality and diversity of the daily menu are fantastic. Greatly priced too. They also organise crazy themed nights which are great fun. If you want to taste and try the local life, then this is it!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolineGB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeroPlatanes64, Propriétaire at Les Platanes, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Hey Caro
Thank you so much for your nice words regarding Les Platanes .
Can't wait to see you with your family and for the next party !
Take care . Véro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

Today was a rainy day and the restaurant had rather the gloomy air from the outside, but as soon as we entered, we felt that we were going to feast.
No tourist, only local customers, a little noisy. The food is simple and very tasty. The daily menu served at noon during the week is cheap but the quality remains top.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank orcc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeroPlatanes64, Propriétaire at Les Platanes, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Hello
Thank you so much for your nice comment .
You are absolutly right to mention that my restaurant is noisy when it is full . And make sure that I am working on it . I invite you to come back when we set up the nice terrace outside .
Glad to read that you liked the food and the atmosphere.
Hope to see you soon . Best regards .
Vero ( Owner )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

A lovely place with a lot of character, welcoming staff and efficient service. Delicious food and cosy setting, including a great terrasse in the summer. Great experience, to enjoy with friends or family. Once a month they also organise great dancing parties (we'be been to one on Bastille Day).

1  Thank Vsmekhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeroPlatanes64, Propriétaire at Les Platanes, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Hey ! Glad to hear that you love the restaurant and also you had a good time for Bastille Day !!! Hope to see you soon . Have a good day . Best regards .
Véro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Platanes also viewed

Anglet, Basque Country
Anglet, Basque Country
 
Anglet, Basque Country
Anglet, Basque Country
 
Anglet, Basque Country
Bayonne, Basque Country
 

Been to Les Platanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing