We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faysselle Holiday Cottages
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Agen
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have taken many holidays in different parts of France over the years, and have stayed in various different gîtes. In June 2012 we took our dog Monty down to the Midi-Pyrenees for a two week holiday. We arrived at Faysselle Holiday Cottages to be warmly welcomed by Judy & Tom (and of course their two lovely golden retrievers Lizzie & Bingley). The gîte we stayed in "Grand Couchant" was perfect for us and our dog and had everything we could possibly need for a self-catering holiday. A real home from home. We had great plans prior to our arrival and decided that we were going to go out to restaurants in the evenings for meals, but it was in such a wonderful setting with a tranquil outlook that we stayed in and cooked on the BBQ for the duration of our stay! It was just too good to leave. Tom & Judy were the most hospitable people you could every hope to meet and had an endless knowledge of local information which came in useful. Lizzie and Bingley were adorable and came calling every morning. We like to think it was our magnetic personality that drew them over each time, but I think they were really coming to see our dog! Faysselle is perfectly located for those wishing to be away from the hustle and bustle of everyday French life, but within driving distance of some of the most spectacular places to explore. If you are looking for a holiday in France and have read this review.....don't look any further....book now, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we were delighted to be met by such friendly hosts and such delightful accomadation. The properties were very clean and had everything you needed on site. The surroundings were very tranquil and we all enjoyed walks around the gardens and meadows with 2 very friendly dogs who were as tranquil as the setting. The pool was as good as the web pictures. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant - it is easy to see why guests return year on year. Unfortunately the weather was hit and miss and it is quite a drive to the main sites of Dordogne. If you are looking for a great place to spend a relaxing time then this is the place. Our kids really enjoyed their stay as well. We would return without hesitatiion if visiting the region again. I would highly recommend the cottages.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We are so glad we found this place. Judy and Tom are wonderul hosts, so helpful and welcoming. The gite we stayed in was lovely with every facility you needed for a family holiday. We had beautiful views to sit and admire over a glass of rose. The setting of Fayselle is wonderful and the time we spent there went far too quickly. Judy and Tom gave us a superb meal on Bastille Day with the 2 other families staying which I know we all enjoyed. If you are looking for a family holiday where you can relax in fantastic surroundings with local markets, plenty to see and do in the area if you want to get out and about and a beautiful pool to laze by and kids to play, this place is for you. We loved it so much we are now moving to France in 2 weeks!

Room Tip: The gite we stayed in was Levant - the right size for 4 adults of a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JakePerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just back from a two week holiday here. We stayed in the Grand Soleil which was lovely and had the added bonus of having the pool on our doorstep! Judy and Tom were perfect hosts making us feel so welcome and giving us information about the local area-they go that extra mile for guests. It is the perfect place to unwind and recharge your batteries.
We had a great day out at a stage of the Tour de France which was a two hour drive from the Gites but worth doing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnhe1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Loved every minute at Fayselle. Wonderfully relaxing, genial, knowledgeable, unobtrusive hosts. Gorgeous countryside - real France not touristy. Doggies a bonus :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank report88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Every year we think about a holiday. Every year we return to Fayselle. In our opinion there is nowhere better to go to recharge the batteries. We have been visiting Tom and Judy since 2001 (We were there when the Twin Towers were attacked). Since then we have been back every year, we even got married there. I cannot recommend Faysselle enough or the wonderful hospitality of Tom and Judy. They are no longer people who provide us with a holiday location for 2 weeks but very close friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidandbeverleypym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at La Faysselle. Judy and Tom were the perfect hosts - so warm and welcoming we felt we'd known them for ages. Nothing was too much trouble and we all felt really 'at home'. The setting is quiet and tranquil - perfect for young children as they can't get into trouble. Coming from Australia, we really appreciated the fact that the gite was well-stocked with all the basics (and more) so we didn't have to 'shop from scratch'. We stayed in Soleil Couchant which we loved - it is cosy and rustic with the most gorgeous terrace looking out over beautiful gardens - perfect for meals outside. The pool setting is stunning too - ideal for relaxing with a good book. Our son George was thrilled that Lizzie and Bingley (Judy & Tom's dogs) were so friendly and adopted us during our stay. We wish we could have stayed for three weeks instead of two and would love to go back. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agen hotels
9.4 mi away
AKENA City Agen Castelculier
AKENA City Agen Castelculier
#1 of 1 in Castelculier
166 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ibis Agen Centre
Ibis Agen Centre
#5 of 14 in Agen
253 reviews
12.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Agen
Premiere Classe Agen
#11 of 14 in Agen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Campanile Agen
Campanile Agen
#4 of 14 in Agen
35 reviews
10 mi away
L'Hotel d'Occitanie
L'Hotel d'Occitanie
#1 of 1 in Pont-du-Casse
48 reviews
12.6 mi away
Residence Astoria
Residence Astoria
#3 of 14 in Agen
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faysselle Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faysselle Holiday Cottages

Address: | Tayrac, 47270, Agen, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Agen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Agen
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three holiday gites / cottages to rent set in 12 acres in idyllic countryside in Lot-et-Garonne, South West France. Houses have been sympathetically restored from 200 year old farm buildings, to retain character with beams and exposed stonework. They sleep 4, 6 and 6, and share the 10.5m x 5.5m pool. There is also a mini pool ideal for younger children. Warm welcome guaranteed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing