We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern French cooking in elegant surroundings.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariottat

Mariottat
Ranked #1 of 176 Restaurants in Agen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Au coeur d'AGEN dans un havre de paix, le restaurant MARIOTTAT vous presente une cuisine de terroir contemporain toujours avec des produits de qualite, et travaille a la maison, Maitre RESTAURATEUR, Maitre Cuisinier de France. Deux belles salles a manger et un salon prive pour vous recevoir. Une terrasse pour les beaux jours. Acces pour les personnes a mobilites reduites. Pour vous faire passer un moment unique en toute simplicite et convivialite. NOUS SERONS HEUREUX DE VOUS FAIRE PLAISIR.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Modern French cooking in elegant surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We enjoyed an excellent meal here cooked by the Chef/Patron Eric Mariottat and served in an elegant dining room overseen by his wife Christianne, by young enthusiastic professionals.

This was a quiet haven in a hot and busy city. There is generous parking in the grounds of the mansion which houses this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    68
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A perfect restaurant in a charming French city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The restaurant is located in an old mansion in the city center of Agen. The location is gorgeous, calm and of great quality. But the place, despite being awarded a star in the renowned Michelin Guide, is far from being posh.
The cuisine is a wonderful mix of traditional food presented in a modern and sometimes surprising way. Definitely a good address when traveling through Southern France.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francoallemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What an amazing place - it deserves it's michelin star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had dinner outside in a beautiful garden which was tastefuly lit and decorated. There were chandeliers hanging from the trees and art work in the borders.

The food was inspiring. To dine here would be reason enough to visit Agen. It is however not cheap. We had the Menu Degustation and spent over £200 on dinner. It was worth every penny.

The service was attentive, friendly and perfectly pitched. I was very impressed they did not press us to order more wine or water as so often happens in restaurants in London. In fact we asked to have some red wine to go with our cheese.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderinggourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow - you must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a great lunch, going for the market menu
The setting is spectacular and very elegant
The service was prompt and friendly
We look forward to returning and we will
Must be on track for a second star

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb food, ambiance & service - a hidden treasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

A hard to find restaurant but definitely 'vaut le detour'. The owners and their staff are always welcoming and 'correct' and the service is very hard to fault. A visit to Agen is not complete if we cannot stop off here for lunch.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franco4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariottat also viewed

 
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
 
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
 

Been to Mariottat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing