We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn, Very Helpful Staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riquewihr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Sarment d'Or
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, Very Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel Le Sarment d'Or is located in the heart of Riquewihr, an absolutely beautiful French wine village. The staff members are very helpful and speak many languages. Bed was comfortable and window seats in the room provided a charming view of the street below. It's a bit difficult to find...but a few minutes of walking through the village was all we needed to stumble upon it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

For those of you walking into Riquewhir and experiencing deja vu, ask yourself if you have been to Disneyland, Paris! That feeling is compounded by one of the first stores that you see, once you emerge from under the Dolder, being the Christmas Store (in July?!).

Anyway, if you are there, this is what you hoped to see and possibly, like me, you hoped to experience some excellent Alsatian wine. You will not be disappointed, with the headquarters of Hugel in the centre of town. I would add to that the excellent wines of Domaine Agape, just outside the town walls, which neatly brings me back to Sarment d'Or, as the Domaine was its recommendation.

I chose the hotel from Tripadvisor reviews. I booked it with the the English-speaking and very helpful Sebastien, who also looked after some friends whom I recommended go there after us.

This is in truth another example of a fine restaurant with rooms (we had come from La Residence in Val d'Ajol, but that restaurant was blown away by this one!). In fact we only ate there on our final night of four - the restaurant was closed on our first two nights, Sunday and Monday - and the bib gourmand menu was delicious and good value, in fact the best meal of the entire trip.

We chose the rooms at the top of the house on the grounds of their being the largest. They were charming and clean duplex rooms, but also had the steep roof to cope with raking alongside the beds. We saw the rooms on the first floor facing the street, and would have been very happy with those - which also meant less walking up narrow stairs!

It is a family run affair, with the father the patrician head chef. His daughter appears to live on the premises with her family and runs the hotel, although Sunday is a day off, so no one was available barring a caretaker to let us in. The daughter served us breakfasts, and was friendlier once we broke the ice. Breakfast itself was a continental affair, with tasty but cold croissants, packet cheese and crackers and yoghurts, with juice and coffee or tea, but still presented better value than wandering to a nearby cafe.

Overall, Riquewihr itself was lovely, and we were glad that we based ourselves there in Alsace rather than in Strasbourg or Colmar. The hotel was fine, but is "asleep" on Sundays, and the fantastic restaurant is only open Tuesday to Saturday, so do base yourself there - and eat in the restaurant as often as you can!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel was a good value, but the restaurant is their claim-to-fame! An exceptional dinner - make reservations!
The town of Riquewihr, however, is a bit to touristy or Disneyland-ish for my personal taste...next time I will elect to stay in another small village, possibly Ribeauvbille.

Room Tip: If you have issues with luggage up spiral staircases, look elsewhere. If you want to stay at a hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while exploring the Alsace region. The hotel is located on a small side street in the heart of charming Riquewihr. We paid 80euros for room with sitting room and a loft bedroom on the top floor. The hotel is a bit spartan but clean and the location can't be beat. The walled section of the city is off limits to cars but you can bring your car into town to load or unload your suitcases in the early morning hours - you might be fighting for space with delivery drivers though. There is secured parking outside the walls, a short walk up a sloping hill. The hotel only has a few spaces so make sure you book the parking spot at the time you book your room. Be warned, there is no elevator and you may find yourself climbing 4 flights of winding, narrow stairs with your luggage.

The restaurant looked and smelled delicious. It was fully booked out and we were unable to enjoy a meal there but it definitely looked like a great place to eat. Make your reservation early as the dining room is small and the reputation and demand very high.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stopped off here overnight on our way to Switzerland as it was around six hours from Calais. Riquewihr is stunning and, needless to say, deserted in mid-February, I hate to think what it is like in the summer. Cars are not allowed in the town so we parked in a car park outside the walls (free overnight and 2 Euros for three hours after 9am) and made the five minute walk to the hotel, which was built in the early 1600s and which has been in the hands of the same family for over 35 years. The staff were very friendly and with their smattering of English and our small amount of French we got on well. We were in the three bed room (90 Euros), which consisted of one double bed and a single bed in a separate room adjoining. Outside it was -9C, but the room was lovely and warm and, more importantly, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was an additional 11 Euros a head, a little pricey, but for this you got a range of fresh bread and croissant with jams and some air-dried ham. The evening we arrived we eat in the restaurant, which was also excellent, and I have done a separate review for that. The bottom line is a two course meal and a bottle of Grand Cru Alsation wine plus bottled water cost around £47 a head. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Riquewihr is a perfect stop on the Alsace wine route--medieval and atmospheric--and "Le Sarment d'Or" is a good, no-frills place to stay with a very good, and some frills, restaurant attached. There is limited car access to drop off luggage, but parking is up a hill on the edge of the village (about 250 meters away): we were given free access to a private lot. Access to the rooms is via a spiral staircase that some visitors might find tricky to negotiate with luggage. But we were perfectly happy with our room, and even more so with the restaurant, which seems to be one of the better ones in the village.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacopoPeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riquewihr
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Couronne
Hotel De La Couronne
#3 of 8 in Riquewihr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Riquewihr
Hotel Le Riquewihr
#6 of 8 in Riquewihr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Oriel
Hotel l'Oriel
#4 of 8 in Riquewihr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg
2.8 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sarment d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sarment d'Or

Property: Hotel Le Sarment d'Or
Address: 4 rue du Cerf, 68340 Riquewihr, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Riquewihr
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing