We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best week ever!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Riquewihr and his wineyards
fortified Riquewihr
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Riquewihr, Haut-Rhin, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TCallinan
Riverside, California
2 reviews
“Best week ever!!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

What can I say??? Everything was absolutely perfect from the moment we booked with Sylvie!!! She was helpful, sweet, and was the perfect host!!! Her mom was just as adorable!!! Our stay in Riquwihr was like a storybook vacation!!! Sylvie's vacation rental added to the beautiful time we had!!! Hearing the church bells, wine tasting, hiking trough the vineyards at sunset, drinking our coffee in the adorable courtyard that is part of her rental and having Sylvie a phone call away made the week just wonderful!!! Parking was easy...and the best part she toured us through her parents 15th century wine cellar...truly awesome!!! We got to see the history of her family along with pictures and the actual wine barrels!!! WOW I would highly recommend this vacation rental, you will be a part of the town and yet will have total quiet and all the privacy you want!!! My favorite thing to do was open the windows in the early morning and watch this enchanting town!!! Walking in the early morning and evenings to the center of town was also one of our favorite things to do!!! I am literally crying as I write this, it is such a special place and a place we will return!!! Thank you Sylvie and your vacation rental for making our trip to France the BEST!!! And a special thanks to your mom for showing us her home the day we left...Although we did not understand each other... we somehow understood each other!!! Truly blessed to have chosen your town and your home!!! Teresa and Steve Callinan

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2017
Hi Teresa & Steve,
Thanks very much for this great review Thanks also for the time to write it- and very glad that you enjoyed so much your stay at Riquewihr.
hope to see you again All the best to you for 2017 -
Kind regards Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leelee333
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We truly enjoyed ourselves in the area of Alsace but I must say it is not made for children. Restaurants offer few choices for kids and you will be so tempted by all of the local caves :-). This apartment was wonderfully decorated and very peaceful but steep stairs to loft not suitable for elderly or children (8+ is my recommendation). Would love a more comfortable sofa, air conditioning in loft (hot!) and better wifi but that is all silly compared to the Splendour of Riquewihr! Enjoy,

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck7892...
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect small town romance”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just off main street in charming village, the gites were very cozy. Bed quality and comfort is high. Sylvie was very warm and helpful. Great parking situation for busy days. Kitchen well equiped and bathroom is premium w towel heater. Quite a nice spot for exploring alsace.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan419
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked into Riquewihr as it was said to be "most beautiful village" and it is - but it is small (1/2 day wander covers it) and also full of tourists (by the coach-load). However the gite "Romance" was a great find - nicely kitted out and very comfortable. Really a nice place to stay for two. I think for 4 maybe a little too compact. Make sure you reserve the parking space. Streets are narrow so no parking there. This gites is a great base to stay and to leave the car behind but still to have places to eat in the evening. The location is great for walking to the less touristy villages during the day. Walks are well signed and easy distance (leave the car behind). Go to Hunwihr (2 Km) and see the church (and then on to Ribberville (3 Km) if you dont mind visiting a larger version of Riquewihr - however some good restaurants for lunch. But ensure you make the walk to Kientheim (only 3Km)- walk around the village outer walls walk and stop for tea at the Hotel - brilliant. If you call in at the Tourist Information in Riquewihr they will give you all the info and maps. Riquewihr is full of restaurants but the food and service is unreliable and can be very disappointing. Read and believe the reports on tripadvisor and avoid most of the ones on the main Charles de Gaulle main street. Service is often poor if not down-right unwelcoming. Food is "Alsace specialitiy" and not that good. On the other hand the "michelin restaurants are fleecing the unwherery. The side street restuarants are best option, On the side street next to the Gite is a pizzeria which is good just for a drink outside or also a short menu of good simple food. At the upper end of Charles de Gaule (towards the tower) is a restuarant with a fox sitting on a barrel - also very good food and service. The rest - beware and read / believe the reports.
Overall this area is great and walks thru the vines really nice. Also a visit to Haut Koningsburg castle is well worth it and really interesting - get the tickets at the Riquewhr Tourist Information to avoid queing at the castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location for walking the area
Liked least: Riquewihr is heavy tourist village - good for restaurants but litle else
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury/Wodonga Australia
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
27rachel
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gite spacious, full of Alsace character and immaculately kept, lovingly restored”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our family stayed five days here in August and we consider ourselves extremely lucky to have found it. The owners Sylvie and Michael were extremely helpful and were full of wonderful suggestions for ourselves and our twin teen girls. The bikes were a huge plus for us to use and the location is excellent right downtown and yet if you wanted to go to neighbouring towns the local bus was only five minutes away This Gite has been lovingly restored by the owner Michael and the craftmenship is evident through out. The modern bathroom was well used by the family and appreciated in the heat. .Riquewihr is a fabulous walled medieval town with little traffic, safe and very beautiful surrounded by vineyards.We did not have a car but I think it would have been nice for a couple of days,I would not hesitate to highly recommend this Gite and this town is very verys special where tourists by the busloads just come to see it for the day. We thought ourselves extremely lucky to actually be staying in the town itself. Thanks Sylvie and Michael for an incredible stay!!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful character post and beams and open plan with loft
Liked least: not much counterspace to cook in for a family of four
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccdoh1
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charmingly rustique apartment in the heart of the Riquewihr”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Sylvie (the owner) was very friendly and helpful with renting newly renovated apartment in the heart of Riquewihr. The old-style construction had been maintained, consistent with other buildings in the village. Sylvie's emphasis on eco-tourism was also noted and appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing