We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn at the heart of wine country”
Review of Hotel l'Oriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel l'Oriel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Arriving in Riquewihr after a day of touring the Alsace wine region, this was an impulse stop without a prior reservation. Requewihr is a charming medieval town and the l'Oriel is located 20 meters from roadside parking, inside the old city walls. The desk staff negotiated a fair rate for the room, and was helpful about recommending how to arrange parking and meals.*

The hotel is modern and well appointed in the public areas, more traditional in the rooms. There are elevators to the upper floors, but stairs along the hallways and narrow around the courtyard that may be difficult for disabled guests. The room was warm and cozy, on two levels with a lower sitting area and bathroom and a loft with the king bed. There is French / German television, minibar, and free wireless internet, The bathroom has a stall shower with modest pressure and good hot water. The windows and skylights provide ventilation, the neighborhood was quiet through the morning.*

A buffet breakfast is served with breads, cereals, juices, meats, and cheeses, but 11 euro each seemed high. The cafe near the Hotel de VIlle may be a better alternative.*

This is a cozy and traditional inn with a very good location and a lot of charm.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 209 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2007

Given the recent train strike in France I was reluctant to make a hotel reservation that I may not be able to show up for. When I arrived in Riquewihr Hotel l'Oriel was one of two three star hotels in the village which is how I ended up there.
The hotel owners are very nice and helpful although they do not speak any English. Not a problem for me but I told them my spouse would be ringing and they could not figure out who I was they kept on telling him only men in the hotel.
The room looked clean enough so I took it. However the stench of smoke just permeated the room. It was in everything, the bedcovers, towels etc. The towels have seen much better days, they are old and tired. The shower has one of those disgusting plastic curtains. It was not really that enjoyable a stay.
The hotel is also close to the church so all night you hear the bells ringing.
I would not stay here again. I did not take the breakfast as I could not bear to eat breakfast smelling smoke so early in the morning. However for nine euros you get canned fruit cocktail, some lunch meat, cheese and sliced loaf. You are better off finding something else.
Returning home from my trip I ended up with athlete's foot. I cannot say it came from this hotel, I only stayed at four hotels on the trip; however the incubation period is pretty dead on for my night here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Tikkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tikitiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOriel, Responsable réception at Hotel l'Oriel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank PIerreMickael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOriel, Responsable réception at Hotel l'Oriel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank véronique h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOriel, Responsable réception at Hotel l'Oriel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riquewihr
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Couronne
Hotel De La Couronne
#3 of 8 in Riquewihr
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Riquewihr
Hotel Le Riquewihr
#6 of 8 in Riquewihr
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Au Lion
Hotel Restaurant Au Lion
#2 of 11 in Ribeauville
312 reviews
2.7 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Oriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Oriel

Address: 3 rue des Ecuries, 68340 Riquewihr, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Riquewihr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Price Range: $95 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Oriel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Alsatian vineyards, the medieval town of Riquewihr welcomes you.Half-timbered façades, 15 and 18th century houses, fortifications, you will be captivated by their genuine charm and architectural wealth.On the wine route, Riquewihr is a perfect place to stop and discover the Alsace.Hôtel à l’Oriel is located right in the centre of Riquewihr. The building is built around a central courtyard where peace and quiet reign.In summer, tables are set out for you to enjoy a drink there.To end a perfect day, our cellar awaits you to taste the best wines of the Alsace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel l'Oriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Oriel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing