We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Obernai
Certificate of Excellence
houston, texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were here three nights in early August when the weather was nice but days were warm. The only A/C was the open window and a fan which was adequate but let bugs in the room. Our room (203) was very spacious with a view of the beautiful courtyard. Hotel staff were polite and helpful. But "king" bed was two twins stuck together, with two twin-size duvets. Internet service was terrible, unreliable and slow. And, in contrast with the fresh beautiful flowers outside the window, there were dusty silk flowers used extensively throughout the hotel.

Worst thing was that I had booked the room weeks in advance and didn't remember that breakfast was not included in the price. So when hotel staff directed us to the dining room, we thought it was part of the deal, and they didn't clarify until we checked out. Then we discovered that breakfast had cost 20 euros each, so 40 euros extra each day (almost $200) for a mediocre breakfast in a room without charm. Had we realized that, we would have preferred to take breakfast in town where there were more appealing locations with better pastries and more choices for a lot less money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gilda-bebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    127
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
59
229
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, perfectly located in the centre of Obernai. It has a great indoor pool, sauna and steam room. We received a warm welcome from the first receptionist we met and our room was clean and well fitted out.

HOWEVER - alarm bells should have rung as soon as we entered our smallish room and noticed 2 huge fans. The room ( no.109) was uncomfortably hot and about ten degrees warmer than the outside ambient temperature and significantly hotter than the corridor outside our room. There was no extractor fan in the bathroom and there seemed to be heat coming into our room from somewhere, perhaps the kitchens below?

I asked a different receptionist if we could change rooms and was told rather curtly that no other rooms were available, except if I wanted to pay an additional 80 Euros for a room with air conditioning. We also had to borrow and set up a wifi box in our room which was very primitive and took a number of attempts and a long time to get working.

For a 4 star - hotel and the price we were paying you would expect air conditioning and wifi in your room to be standard. The hotel also had a couple of nice looking restaurants, but breakfast was served in a strange, windowless room a bit like a business meeting room.

It is such a shame as we had been really looking forward to our stay as a treat at the end of our touring holiday, but ended up having 2 very uncomfortable night's sleep in what could be a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 109 or any on the same corridor as they are far too hot even in normal weather c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devonscone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

La Cour d'Alsace is a very nice hotel situated in the center of Obernai. The rooms are very nicely decorated and relaxed.

The staff are always very friendly and if you have been there more than once they remember you.
It is definitely worth visiting the restaurant as well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Birgit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Cour d'Alsace is a beautiful establishment and the rooms seem very clean with beautiful fittings. The restaurant at the hotel is world-class, breakfast sumptuous, stunning indoor
pool and friendly courteous staff. The hotel is set away from the Main Street down a panhandle and discreetly housed in a shady courtyard.

I would recommend it unreservedly but for two small things. The room I was given had no wifi signal, apparently an issue with the walls being too thickens one that permeates much of the original main hotel building. The hotel provided me with a router which I had to install myself to get wifi, something a four star establishment should probably have dealt with themselves by now.

The other (overriding) issue was that in 32 degrees Celsius summer weather, there are no air conditioners in the rooms. That is the biggest issue for me. It was sweltering in the room and the provided fan just blew hot air around the room.

I'm sure that in winter this would be an ideal location for either business or vacation purposes.

Room Tip: I believe there is better connectivity in the new annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybarump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had an really excellent time.
On arrival, we got a complimentary upgrade to the top suite,( 'Merci Monsieur UHRY), due to the fact that my wife had stayed there before and also recommended others to stay here. The suite 'Rouge & Noir' was amazing, 2 floors with a great sitting room, jacuzzi upstairs, a massive bathroom and a super double bed with loads of pillows!!!
The pool was really excellent as was the sauna and steam room, the staff were extra nice and very very helpful.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening, à la carte and, well, what can I say about the wine list (for list read 'Bible'!!!! We chose a half bottle per course with recommendations from the sommelier (Frédéric Vonné) and the evening was a veritable 'expérience gastronomique'!!!
Was a great stay, very romantic and well worth the price (not a cheap option but was not the plan)!!
Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good as it is in a quiet town and set back off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nash1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
551 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Lovely location off the beaten path. Awesome pool and I regret never getting in it - but we were there for only a moment. Nice parking - never expected and always welcome.

Bathrooms updated and nice. The offer of a fan was very practical and necessary. Glad we had that in our room contract. Our room was near the kitchen which offered wonderful smells in the afternoon.

Room Tip: We choose not to pay extra for a courtyard room - and to this day - I'm not sure if they are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Every time we travel to Switzerland or to Italy, this is where we stay. The rooms - in particular the suites located close to the (great) swimming pool - are just perfect for families (we have 2 children, 5 and 6 y. old). The service is very nice, friendly and professional. We were always accompanied to our room by a member of staff at check in. We also love the location in charming Obernai. The restaurant serves excellent food which we also had brought in our room several times (since it is a gastronomic restaurant, we do not want our children running around). Breakfast is just perfect with mejdool dates and a nice variety of fruit and pastries. Although prices may seem high to some, when you travel with 2 children, it doesn't really cost more than booking 2 rooms in a regular hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Moritz suite for parents travelling with small children, and the Nicolas suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BB_aka_BoBonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obernai
0.4 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Colombier
Hotel Le Colombier
#3 of 11 in Obernai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins d'Adalric
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Gouverneur
Hotel le Gouverneur
#4 of 11 in Obernai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace

Property: Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
Address: 3 rue de Gail | 3, rue de Gail, 67212, Obernai, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Obernai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic squares, winding streets and narrow alleyways within historic city walls - come and be spellbound by Obernai, in the heart of rural Alsace.Exclusive rooms with all modern conveniences and a staff dedicated to making your stay a truly wonderful experience.Enjoy our memorable cuisine in the "Caveau de Gail" or in "Le Jardin des Remparts". Our master chef is just waiting to tempt you with his culinary skills.The benefits of a spa town combined with the inspirationof art - relaxation pure for body and soul.Art, nature, festivities, seminars, golf, vineyard, sight-seeing tours... our hotel is the perfect starting point for all this and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel A La Cour D'Alsace Obernai, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing