We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Bistrot du Alsace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Winstub La Dime

Restaurant Winstub La Dime
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Obernai
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classic Bistrot du Alsace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great comfort food. Great prices. Good people watching and efficient service. We love the earthiness and the strange dishes they make from all parts of the pig, lamb and cow. These people don't waste anything. The Dijon mustard and sauerkraut are the best.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Limahuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    272
    97
    42
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very good traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I went there with my husband and two grandchildren ( 12, 14).
The place was crowded but we reserved a place that morning so there was no problem. The restaurant was very nicely decorated.The service was very good, quick and efficient. The waiter spoke English and took good care of us. The food was traditional Elsacien and very tasty. especially good was the tart flambe.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our first Alsatian meal - WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had wandered around Obernai for quite awhile and realized it was getting near dinner time so we started to look for a place to eat. We looked at this menu and knew we had to try it - unfortunately we had to wait almost 2 hours until they opened for dinner at 7pm! It was well worth the wait!!!!!

This was our first truly Alsatian meal and it was excellent. The portions were huge, the decor was charming and the service was excellent!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy9252009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahus, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fast and good service, not so good meat, touristic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

The feeling was that they want to earn money before satisfy costumers

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nilsfredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very basic and unimaginative cooking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

My partner and I started with the super salad, which was fine - hardly surprising as it is difficult to go wrong serving large dollops of basic ingredients on to a plate. We both chose fillet steak for the main course and we both received two large lumps of meat, much more than we would have expected for this expensive cut. We were not surprised to find the meat tasteless and the cooking had done nothing to add to this. One of us had the Provençal sauce, which appeared to be a jar of tomato sauce and herbs emptied on top of the meat. The meat was almost floating in the excess liquid. At this point we decided we'd eaten enough and requested the bill, which at €75 for the above along with a carafe of some mediocre red wine we felt was steep. I would happily have paid this much and stayed for desert had the chef given any sign of putting some effort into his/her cooking.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaBCN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Winstub La Dime also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Winstub La Dime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing