We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to be for a good Steak Tartare”

Les Remparts d'Obernai
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Obernai
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mollkirch, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Place to be for a good Steak Tartare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're craving a delicious steak tartare, this is the place to be. It's prepared "dans la salle" and hand-cut.
Choucroute aux poissons, also excellent, as are mosts of the items on the menu.
Nice terrace during Summer. Ideal for observing colorful pedestrians.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Domus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    179
    50
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haute-Savoie, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ate here 3 times over Christmas 3 years ago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Revisited after 3 years. Dined here again and still as memorable. Alsatian cooking par excellence, why else eat in Obernai.
Warm reception, charming service not slow or too fast. Attractive decor and warm stmosphere.
Spaetzli with wsrm (poilê) foie gras. Jambonneau au Munster with poilé potatoes.
Followed bu Tsrtellette au citron and Koegeloff glscée yopped of with Café Alsacien.
The whole meal was voted a tesounding success by all 3 of us

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank admonfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Gastronomic restaurant...very good, but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

After looking up restaurants in Obernai on the internet, mainly using Trip Advisor, we wanted one gastronomic meal on our two week tour along the Route du Vin. Obernai was in the middle of the trip so we decided to try this highly recommended restaurant. We were supposed to eat at the other restaurant attached to the hotel but they had a huge group of people (a Business group I think) who took over the entire place so that we were accompanied to the more expensive restaurant but given a choice of the other one's menu...btw, we walked from out hotel, La Diligence, to this other hotel/spa in about 10 minutes...when we arrived lots of men were coming out of the indoor pool area in bathrobes which was really funny since we were very dressed for the special meal. Anyway, when we were seated in the other restaurant, there was another huge group of businesspeople, some looked like total slobs, and they obviously were discussing matters related to their business which took away from the romantic ambiance of the room...The room was beautiful decorated but way tooooo bright, the lighting was on full blast...would have like some soft music, especially with the big group nearby so we were not happy with the ambiance. From beginning to end of the meal, we were impressed with the quickeness of the service but you did NOT FEEL SPECIAL by the wait staff...that extra spark was definitely missing. The food was good. but I can't say that anything we had was very special. We both chose the gastronomic meal at 59 Euros each. Was it worth it? Yes for the food but the presentation did not bowl us over. We enjoyed the amuse bouche, the foie gras, and the duck breast but my hubby who is gourmet cook himself was disappointed...so was I...we had a selection of cheeses, and dessert which was really very rich and way too much to eat at the end of the meal...So it was tasty but definitely not memorable due to the lack of romantic ambiance, attentive service that makes you feel special....disappointed...not average, and not very good...in between....more like a hotel, not like a gourmet restaurant...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
42660
Level Contributor
203 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A classical restaurant of Obernai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Closed from the center but inside the ramparts.
Food is correct, dining room is pretty small and you are pretty closed from the other guests but this is OK.
Range of price is not so cheap but still correct for this touristical place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of those meals I was happy with but will not remember after 48 hrs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The food is good, within the tradition, exactly what the tourist that is visiting this area would expect, nothing more nothing less. The waitresses very nice, service not the quickest.vnothing special in the setting The meat of the shucrut was of good quality, but the sourkrout a bit too salty. No bad memories from this restaurant , but with a little extra touch it could have easily become more of an experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxvese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Remparts d'Obernai also viewed

 

Been to Les Remparts d'Obernai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing