We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and comfortable, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Munster
Certificate of Excellence
zur yigal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice and comfortable, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Let me start by saying the hotel is very nice and comfortable, clean ,quiet and inviting. I have two warnings, though. Even though it states on its entrance that there is free wi-fi, we couldn't get any. And when I went down to the reception to ask about it, there was another gentleman there who was complaining about the same issue, for the second day, so... figure it out yourselves. My other warning is the restaurant. We had to eat dinner at the hotel, because of the rain, and it was too expensive and did not deliver. It looks posh and so are the prices, but we ate better food in small restaurants on the streets of Alsace. But the rooms are great!! and in June, it was not pricy at all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, even those who face the parking lot, like the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TsippyLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    408
    125
    35
    11
See reviews for
196
556
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Surrounded by a park on the edge of the town centre, with a very classy feel to it and clean, modern rooms, this hotel was excellent. The restaurant is fantastic - do visit it - although the breakfast is expensive and nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKDent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel reception staff were very friendly. I wasn't too happy with our room (quite small) and asked to see another. They gave me a key to check out the next price category but after looking at it I decided that it wasn't worth changing just for one night. That room had a view of the park but didn't have a balcony.
I also had problems getting Wi Fi access on my Ipod and a receptionist took time to help me. Unfortunately it still didn't work and they offered to let me use a computer.
There was a little wait to be seated for dinner at the restaurant entrance as it was very busy. Luckily we had a reservation. The restaurant staff were all very friendly and attentive. The wine list was extensive and well-priced and there was a Sommelier on hand to help us make a good choice.
The breakfast was good- a buffet. Although the hotel was quite full, the wait wasn't too long and the staff were quick to bring us hot drinks.
Tip- bring some flip-flops or hotel slippers for use in the spa. They have white robes in the bedrooms to wear down to the spa but no slippers.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and despite over-looking the car park it was quiet and had a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

I have stayed several times in this hotel under both owners. I found this time that the food had greatly improved and that in fact a stay at this hotel is good value for money. It is comfortable and rather cosy for a hotel that has about 100 rooms. The staff who work in the spa, the restaurant and the housekeeping are very competent, friendly
and hard-working. The reception staff on the other hand are very mixed, one of them is downright unpleasant (unless you happen to be a good looking young man) and one or two of the others are not very efficient. I had no telephone service in my room for most of my stay but this seemed to be treated very casually. There is one nice lady there however called Joanna and a man (I don't know his name) both of whom manage to answer questions without making the guests feel that they are unworthy of their time. This is a real shame for this hotel and as the problem is common knowledge even amongst the other staff I am surprised that the owners do not do something about it.

In summary the good things about this hotel far outweigh the possible problems with reception staff and I would recommend anybody to go there for a quiet break in a pleasant atmosphere.

I was met at the train station which I very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amateur2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

have been staying there a few times and got married there. Came back for christening. While the hotel has a lovely location and good food, I was appauled with the customer service. Cannot praise the food and beverage staff enough but reception staff is not good at all. Keeps insisting to put my sister in law and her partner in twin room when I several times mention by phone and at the desk to put them in a double room to avoid embarassment in front of family. I had to change the reservation twice: and put again in twin room NOT GAY FRIENDLY!!!!
Did not advise me that some of the party guests were too loud but instead gave us dirty looks throughout the stay. Consummed a lot at the bar hotel, tipped the bar staff to keep open but on check out were accused to have stolen a bottle of champagne from the minibar. ( we had 20 bottle of champagne on main bill and had taken none from the mini bar.....not that one more, one less would have made a difference, just for the principle!)

We would have returned for the food, staff, location, but the way we were treated left a bad taste in our mouth. All my friends are either general manager, head concierge and front of house managers in 5 star hotel in London...we have a clue or two about customer services.

I wrote a letter to them with all my concerns and never got a reply....how professional is this. Mrs gauthier should also stick to floral arrangement instead of trying to do a pathetic attempt to greet guests at a busy breakfast, could do better at smiling....

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank sonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munster
15.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
11.4 mi away
Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Munster
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Aqua Viva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee

Property: Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee
Address: 10 rue Alfred Hartmann, 68140 Munster, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Munster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Munster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Alsace, in a charming landscape made of mountains, Hotel Spa Verte Vallée offers a refined setting design with your comfort and your relaxation in mind.The hotel features 111 comfortable rooms featuring a wide range of facilities. They offer an elegant backdrop for your stay in Hotel Verte Vallée. The hotel offers a gourmet restaurant serving creative and delicious dishes prepared with typical produce from the area. For your comfort, the hotel offers a wellness centre and a spa. Enjoy massages or body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Spa Verte Vallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verte Vallee Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing