We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bristol, Mulhouse, France”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Mulhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

A very nice hotel located within two blocks of the old town center.

The room was very large and clean. This is an older hotel but it is obvious that it had recently been remodeled.

We paid 65 Euros, no breakfast, but free garage parking was provided.

Only negative was the wifi did not function.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel and away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 516 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

I loved my stay at the Hotel Bristol. My French is poor but was greeted with smiles and asked which my preferred language is after attempting French. Comfortable room, good quality buffet breakfast with nice meats and cheeses, cereals etc. Was also politely asked if I would like tea or coffee. If you don't understand them first time they very patiently help you understand. They really make non French-speaking customers very comfortable. The breakfast was only 8 EUR too Excellent customer service at all times. I would say that the overall service you get here is more than 3*, especially given how cheap it is.

Room Tip: I upgraded from the standard room and found myself with a small suite. It was really comfortable (we...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I often come to Mulhouse from Zurich in order to buy fish and wine at the large Carrefour just outside of the city. Took the opportunity to spend a Friday night at the Hotel Bristol and to have a nice meal in the old town before shopping on the Saturday morning. The hotel is located a short walk from the old city where there are a number of good restaurants. The entrance to the car park is through a very narrow passageway just past the hotel. The car park itself is large and sheltered. The hotel itself appears a little dated, however the room that we received was large and modern with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was large, with a bath and a walk-in shower. The breakfast was also good - plenty of cheese to choose from. The ladies at the front desk were also very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We enjoyed a brief stay in Mulhouse and the Bristol accommodation was excellent. We were a family of 8 and booked 2 rooms, one for 5 and one for 3. Both rooms were really good sizes and had lovely decor. Our room had a separate bedroom with two single beds plus our room with an extra bed for the fifth person. The other room had a separate bedroom upstairs plus the main room and bathroom downstairs. The bathrooms were a great size too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WerombiKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Apart from the Cité de l'Automobile, there does not seem to be a lot of reason for visiting Mulhouse. This is reflected in the range of accommodation options in the city. The Bristol Hotel seems to have a bit going for it in terms of price relative to star quality, and location near the “old town”. The hotel, facilities and rooms represent fairly well, all apparently clean and tidy. The beds are getting a bit beyond heir “use by” date according to a simple sag test. And the car park in a labyrinth beneath the hotel is a scary adventure.
The real problem with the Bristol is the carpets and the managements response to guest concerns. There is a tendency in France for travellers to bring their pets along for the ride, share the amenity, share the room, possibly even a bed. The presence f a dog or cat in a carpeted room manifests in a font of allergy for some of us unfortunates. Respiratory irritation, runny eyes, itchiness and disrupted sleep. Many hotels in France advertise as being pet friendly and initially the Bristol staff seemed happy to go along with the idea of pets. But when they realised a complaint was coming they began to hedge their position. Pets in the room? No, never, not to their knowledge. But they did actually have pet free and carpet free rooms for guests who might suffer pet induced allergies. Game, set and match!
So while the hotel had a pet allergy response policy, they were unable to deal with our “problem”, it being so late in the day and with a large Asian tour group imminent, apparently we were not of sufficient priority.

Room Tip: Check the allergy status of your rooms before you check in, if cat/pet allergy is an issue
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The penultimate stay in a European driving adventure.

Room was large and of a good standard, however the hotel is located opposite a couple of bars and the noise in the early hours was a tad loud.

Breakfast whilst plentiful was a let down - long tables, school style and overall not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

Good car parking facilities were made even better by the presence of the Rico Rally teams - lots of exotic super cars made the stay!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We did stay here for 1 night on our way to Italy. Staff is very friendly and they have a private parking. Hotel is only a few steps away from the centre. We had a huge room on the 3rd floor with all comfort. From the minute we saw where the breakfast was, we decided to have our breakfast in the centre. The breakfast area was not nice decorated and there were flowers that smelled for the whole area. Not good for the appetite ! If it wasn't for that, I would have given 4/5.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mulhouse hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De La Bourse
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Mulhouse
Holiday Inn Mulhouse
#3 of 25 in Mulhouse
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Mulhouse Centre
B&B Hotel Mulhouse Centre
#12 of 25 in Mulhouse
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
#4 of 25 in Mulhouse
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mulhouse Centre Filature
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
#11 of 25 in Mulhouse
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 18 avenue de Colmar | 18,Avenue de Colmar, 68100 Mulhouse, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Mulhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Mulhouse
Price Range: $77 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story traditional hotel with multilingual staff, set in building dating from 1900 in the city center, near the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Mulhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing