We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional local cuisine”

le petit sot l'y laisse
Ranked #50 of 295 Restaurants in Mulhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional local cuisine”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We ate here on a recent day trip to Mulhouse. The staff could not have been more helpful-explaining to us in English the three special dishes of the day which enabled my husband to try something new. He chose a delicious savoury roulade made with a variety of meats rolled with a light pastry, bistro cooking at it's finest and so nice to have something from the area which you have never heard of before. My salad of goat's cheese coated with almond slices and lightly fried was also very good. A local aperif with chestnut liquer was recommended and much enjoyed by both of us. Altogether an excellent lunch at a very reasonable price with a relaxed atmosphere and excellent service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    80
    30
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food - Great atmosphere - Nice staff”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We went there with family for a sunday lunch, the food was really nice, the atmosphere and decoration is cute and you feel really well. The menu is a mix of tradition and modern cooking, the deserts are a treat! I would really recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I cannot imagine how this restaurant is rated 2 on Trip Advisor!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I never write bad reviews because I don't like to harm businesses but if I can rescue only one person from eating at this restaurant I would like to do so. On the basis of Trip Advisor reviews we had an evening meal here in October. My partner's rognons were served almost raw and my special chicken dish seemed like the small pieces of chicken had been boiled in something for hours as they were as tough as rocks. The chicken was swamped in a creamy mushroom gravy that tasted like it had come out of a can. Worst of all were the spaetzli - indigestible lumps of fried dough. The potato cakes - roesti - were nice and so was the waitress. We were in France and Italy for 5 weeks and this was the only bad meal we had.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very cute!”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We came here for lunch due to its high rating on Tripadvisor, and were absolutely delighted by the experience. The tiny bistro was packed with locals and everyone seemed to have ordered le menu du jour. The price was reasonable for the quality and quantity of food you get. The decor was irresistably cute - that alone was worth the visit!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petite-frenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le petit sot l'y laisse also viewed

Mulhouse, Haut-Rhin
Mulhouse, Haut-Rhin
 
Mulhouse, Haut-Rhin
 
Mulhouse, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to le petit sot l'y laisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing