We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains addict favorite”
Review of Cite du Train

Cite du Train
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Mulhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 10th March 2005, the Cité du Train has been offering a dynamic tour due to the redevelopment of the collections.In a building with multi-coloured façades, a tour designed in the form of a 6000m² film set takes visitors on a voyage of discovery through one of the most prestigious European train collections.Spectacular scenography, constantly changing events, audiovisual montages and sound and light shows take young and old alike to the very heart of the great railway adventure.
Mulhouse
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Trains addict favorite”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you like trains you cannot miss it. It's may be not the biggest train museum worldwide but there 's many masterpieces there.

Helpful?
Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    296
    46
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincroft, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I never knew there was so many trains!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went through here and took tons of pics of the most incredible trains, many of which I'd never seen before... Worth the price!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMacedoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge collection in a beautiful building”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

So i did this after the car museum. I wouldn't really recommend walking between the two, it's a good hours walk! Definitely longer than i thought. Anyway, there is a massive collection of trains, with some really interesting coaches and carriages. Definitely a must see after the car museum! (if your feet can manage)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Mulhouse is a horrible city with little to offer,but this museum offers plenty of things to do in terms of railway nostalgia. However,it's no where near as good as the national railway museum in York,UK.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Mulhouse is, in my opinion, a drab post-industrial town with its best days behind it. However, the French Railway Museum and the National Auto Museum make a visit worthwhile. The museum is well designed a traces the history and developement of rail from the earliest days to the present. The locomotives and rolling stock are a joy to behold. Even my wife enjoyed the afternoon. I'll compare to the British RR Museum in York, UK next year. If you are half-way interested in rail you will enjoy this museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cite du Train also viewed

 

Been to Cite du Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing