We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie du Chateau
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“In the middle of everything”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A pretty hotel right in the centre-stayed in a superior room overlooking the square and fountain. Very comfortable room with plenty of space, great bed and large bathroom (no shower curtain, but had a bath anyway!) Nice breakfast and owners couldn't have done more. One downside was we stayed on a Tuesday night and almost every restaurant in town was closed (hotel does not have one). However had a great tartiflette in one which was open right opposite the hotel. They do a mean espresso too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    99
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
174
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, two nights in a delux room and one in a standard room. The delux rooms and certainly the pick of the two and worth the extra money. Our delux looked out over the Square and was bright, comfortable and large. Melinda and Philipe were excellent hosts.They are very friendly and helpful. Wish we had stayed here longer.

Room Tip: Stay in the delux rooms, they are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Hostellerie du Château for 7 daysa during a trip in Alsace.We stayed at the Superior room at the first floor; the room is good but not big; the bathroom is good and big. The view from the room is very beutifull. The breakfast was very good and the owners very hospitable.Melinda and Philipe helped us with reservations of restaurants in the village.The room does not have a safe which we missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 914DanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Apart from the fact that Eguisheim is a quaint, beautiful fairy tale village in the heart of an amazing wine region in France, this Hotel definitely represents all of the best the region has to offer. Because Alsace has had some German history, you can see how this village has become a melting pot for both french and german traditions. The hotel is conveniently located and has the feel of a B&B with the hosts making you feel at home. I stayed on the top floor which over looked the side street, it had a nice comfortable double bed and a huge bathroom. My only issue with that shower/bath was the ceiling was very low and there was no shower curtain so it was difficult to shower without worrying about hitting your head or flooding the floors. Breakfasts are basic, but has the essentials. The bakery items are fresh and warm, coffee was good and so were the eggs. I used the parking garage that they have (I think only for 1 car) which was convenient because you didn't have to worry about driving around the village to find a spot. Will definitely stay here next time I venture into that region. Restaurants book out fast in the village and depending on the season/period some may not even open so you may need to plan some nights for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were graciously welcomed at the Hostellerie du Chateau. Melanie is a darling, charming and so helpful. Our room was small and somewhat oddly decorated, but clean and comfortable. The bed was great. The breakfast room is pretty with window tables and views of the square. Breakfast offers anything you'd like, including eggs on request. There is no specific hotel parking, but parking close to the hotel was not a problem. Although not luxurious, we highly recommend this hotel for location, comfort and friendliness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St-Ives-Crown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hostellerie du Château was taken over by the current owners about a year ago and they have evidently (from reading other less enthusiastic reviews) completely transformed it.
The décor is pretty cool - M & Mme told me that they had designed it all themselves, and our room was delightful and very comfortable. The breakfasts are fantastic (Monsieur makes a great omelette), the croissants are fresh each morning, and if you get down early enough to bag a table by the window you can watch the town around you waking up and getting ready for the new day. The Hostellerie du Chateau does not have a restaurant, however that doesn't matter as there are several restaurants in the town - a very good one one right next door.

Eguisheim is a lovely place and quite rightly has recently won the accolade of the most beautiful village in France, the buildings are covered with flowers and several have storks nesting on them, and (last but by no means least) it is surrounded by vineyards so there is no shortage of good wines to try with your dinner. It is also handy for visiting Colmar, Kaysersberg etc. etc.

If this hotel has a drawback it is that, being housed in a very old building, there is no lift, however our bags were whisked away by our host and hostess and carried upstairs for us - and there are rooms on the ground floor, just a short flight of steps up from the front door. Our room was on the top floor, which was probably a good thing as it gave us the opportunity to work off some of the calories we consumed whilst we were staying there.

So - a great little hotel in a fabulous location (did I mention the storks?), and a host and hostess who couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Of the towns/villages we visited on the Alsace wine route, Eguisheim was the prettiest. Obernai quite interesting. Barr a bit dead. Ribeauville and Riquewihr very attractive but very crowded. Eguisheim doesn`t have the large number of cafes/ice cream places that R. & R. have and so is much less crowded. The street design in Eguisheim, running in circles around the centre is unusual. Watch out for the storks nesting on the top of churches.

The hotel is right on the central square but because of the nature of the village isn`t noisy. The only downside is the lack of secure parking but it is easy to park just around the corner from the hotel and it seemed very safe.

The owners of the hotel were extremely friendly and couldn`t have been more helpful. Breakfast simple but nice. Overall, to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eguisheim
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Hubert
Hotel Saint Hubert
#4 of 8 in Eguisheim
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hostellerie des Comtes
1.5 mi away
Hotel Husseren les Chateaux
Hotel Husseren les Chateaux
#1 of 1 in Husseren-les-Chateaux
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Des Deux Clefs
Hotel Des Deux Clefs
#1 of 3 in Turckheim
341 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
638 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#5 of 39 in Colmar
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Chateau

Property: Hostellerie du Chateau
Address: 2 Place du Chateau Saint Leon, 68420 Eguisheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Eguisheim
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chateau Eguisheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing